Home› Minnesota› Spring Lake Park
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Spring Lake Park, Minnesota

In 2025, fire departments serving Spring Lake Park responded to 50 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $50K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A- Peak yr 2023 Anoka County 6,966 residents 0 reporting departments 245 5-yr
Total incidents
50
+38.9% vs 2024
Building fires
13
Residential 62% Other 38%
Property loss
$158K
$109K structure · $48K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 66% of all calls.

50
Total Incidents
Building fires 13 26.0%
Power line down 8 16.0%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 5 10.0%
Overheated motor 4 8.0%
Passenger vehicle fire 3 6.0%
All other categories 17 34.0%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

May peaks. Mar dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 5
Feb 3
Mar 0
Apr 4
May 11
Jun 5
Jul 7
Aug 6
Sep 4
Oct 5
Nov 0
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Spring Lake Park

245 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $778K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 43 —
2022 56 +30.2%
2023 60 +7.1%
2024 36 -40.0%
2025 50 +38.9%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 13 building fires Spring Lake Park departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
58%
7
Cause undetermined
42%
5
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
0%
0
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Spring Lake Park?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 51 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 8 15.7%
2 Outside area, other 7 13.7%
3 Exterior, exposed surface 5 9.8%
4 Function area, other 3 5.9%
5 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 3 5.9%
6 Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch 3 5.9%
7 Vehicle area, other 2 3.9%
8 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 2 3.9%
9 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 2 3.9%
10 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 2 3.9%
11 All other areas 14 27.5%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Spring Lake Park mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 26 51.0%
2 Heat from powered equipment, other 5 9.8%
3 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 3 5.9%
4 Arcing 3 5.9%
5 Hot ember or ash 3 5.9%
6 Radiated heat from another fire 3 5.9%
7 Hot or smoldering object, other 2 3.9%
8 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 1 2.0%
9 Explosive, fireworks, other 1 2.0%
10 Fireworks 1 2.0%
11 All other sources 3 5.9%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $108K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Spring Lake Park departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 99% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $15,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
3 $15,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
4 $9,687 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $7,500 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $5,000 Outside equipment fire Significant Investigated
7 $5,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
8 $1,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Spring Lake Park compares

Spring Lake Park vs Minnesota vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Spring Lake Park sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

7.18
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Spring Lake Park
7.18
MN avg
7.36
US avg
7.48
1.87
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Spring Lake Park
1.87
MN avg
1.08
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Spring Lake Park
0
MN avg
4.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Spring Lake Park

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 18,880 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2000 Debris and open burning 8,513 14.7 mi
2009 Arson/incendiarism 2,550 13.4 mi
1996 Debris and open burning 1,299 31.5 mi
2004 Recreation and ceremony 1,000 20.1 mi
2004 Railroad operations and maintenance 835 47.9 mi
2000 Smoking 420 19.1 mi
2010 Equipment and vehicle use 336 12.3 mi
1995 Debris and open burning 320 36.6 mi
1999 Railroad operations and maintenance 306 10.6 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 280 37.6 mi
2005 Debris and open burning 260 31.3 mi
2004 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 250 3.3 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Spring Lake Park do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 55432 239
2 55449 6
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Spring Lake Park

Six Minnesota cities with population within ±25% of Spring Lake Park. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.