Home› Minnesota› Springfield
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Springfield, Minnesota

In 2025, fire departments serving Springfield responded to 11 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $240K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A Peak yr 2025 Brown County 2,090 residents 0 reporting departments 36 5-yr
Total incidents
11
+83.3% vs 2024
Building fires
1
Residential 0% Other 100%
Property loss
$255K
$255K structure · $198 contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 64% of all calls.

11
Total Incidents
Grass fire 2 18.2%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 2 18.2%
Building fires 1 9.1%
Trash or rubbish fire, contained 1 9.1%
Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire 1 9.1%
All other categories 4 36.4%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Apr peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 1
Feb 0
Mar 1
Apr 4
May 0
Jun 0
Jul 1
Aug 0
Sep 0
Oct 2
Nov 1
Dec 1
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Springfield

36 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $355K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 9 —
2022 6 -33.3%
2023* 4 —
2024 6 —
2025 11 +83.3%

* Well below Springfield's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 1 building fires Springfield departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
57%
4
Cause undetermined
0%
0
Intentional / arson
29%
2
Equipment / heat source failure
14%
1
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Springfield?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 24 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 9 37.5%
2 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 5 20.8%
3 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 2 8.3%
4 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 2 8.3%
5 Other 1 4.2%
6 Cooking area, kitchen 1 4.2%
7 Storage area, other 1 4.2%
8 Heating room or area, water heater area 1 4.2%
9 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 1 4.2%
10 Outside area, other 1 4.2%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Springfield mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Heat from powered equipment, other 4 16.7%
2 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 4 16.7%
3 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 3 12.5%
4 Undetermined 3 12.5%
5 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 2 8.3%
6 Hot ember or ash 2 8.3%
7 Arcing 1 4.2%
8 Hot or smoldering object, other 1 4.2%
9 Heat, spark from friction 1 4.2%
10 Flame/torch used for lighting 1 4.2%
11 All other sources 2 8.3%
04 The biggest fires

4 fires · $255K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Springfield departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $240,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
2 $13,000 Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire Significant Investigated
3 $1,000 Grass fire Significant Investigated
4 $662 Building fires Significant Investigated
05 How Springfield compares

Springfield vs Minnesota vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Springfield sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

5.26
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Springfield
5.26
MN avg
7.36
US avg
7.48
0.48
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Springfield
0.48
MN avg
1.08
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Springfield
0
MN avg
4.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Springfield

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,667 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2009 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 180 45.4 mi
2004 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 152 38.9 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 150 38.4 mi
2000 Debris and open burning 127 27.8 mi
2014 Arson/incendiarism 108 36.1 mi
2000 Debris and open burning 96 26.8 mi
1994 Debris and open burning 95 20.4 mi
1993 Debris and open burning 75 32.3 mi
2013 Debris and open burning 65 46.4 mi
2007 Arson/incendiarism 50 38.8 mi
2014 Arson/incendiarism 50 4.7 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 48 37.2 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Springfield do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 56087 36
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Springfield

Six Minnesota cities with population within ±25% of Springfield. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.