In 2025, fire departments serving Stoutsville responded to 27 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $125K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 67% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Jul dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
148 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $586K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 29 | — | |
| 2022 | 30 | +3.4% | |
| 2023 | 24 | -20.0% | |
| 2024 | 38 | +58.3% | |
| 2025 | 27 | -28.9% |
For the 6 building fires Stoutsville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 37 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 9 | 24.3% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 7 | 18.9% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 6 | 16.2% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 3 | 8.1% | |
| 5 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 6 | Vehicle area, other | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 7 | Wildland, woods | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 8 | Storage area, other | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 9 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 10 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 3 | 8.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Stoutsville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 22 | 59.5% | |
| 2 | Cigarette lighter | 7 | 18.9% | |
| 3 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 4 | Molten, hot material | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 5 | Heat source: other | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 7 | Arcing | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 8 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 1 | 2.7% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Stoutsville departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $125,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $50,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $500 | Cooking fire, confined to container | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Stoutsville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 2,111 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 355 | 15.8 mi | |
| 2013 | Arson/incendiarism | 280 | 20.6 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 137 | 46.8 mi | |
| 2015 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 131 | 31.8 mi | |
| 2009 | Smoking | 100 | 39.9 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 100 | 31.8 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 90 | 24.9 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 75 | 35.4 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 70 | 48.4 mi | |
| 2014 | Debris and open burning | 65 | 49.3 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 60 | 47.1 mi | |
| 2013 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 53 | 32.8 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 43154 | 148 |
Six Ohio cities with population within ±25% of Stoutsville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.