In 2025, fire departments serving Sumrall responded to 160 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $200K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 69% of all calls.
Oct peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
622 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $2.6M cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 67 | — | |
| 2022* | 61 | — | |
| 2023 | 149 | — | |
| 2024 | 185 | +24.2% | |
| 2025 | 160 | -13.5% |
* Well below Sumrall's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 35 building fires Sumrall departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 150 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 67 | 44.7% | |
| 2 | Cooking area, kitchen | 12 | 8.0% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 12 | 8.0% | |
| 4 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 11 | 7.3% | |
| 5 | Wildland, woods | 11 | 7.3% | |
| 6 | Outside area, other | 7 | 4.7% | |
| 7 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 3 | 2.0% | |
| 8 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 2 | 1.3% | |
| 9 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 1.3% | |
| 10 | Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room | 2 | 1.3% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 21 | 14.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Sumrall mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 101 | 67.3% | |
| 2 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 8 | 5.3% | |
| 3 | Cigarette lighter | 5 | 3.3% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 4 | 2.7% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 4 | 2.7% | |
| 6 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 4 | 2.7% | |
| 7 | Lightning | 4 | 2.7% | |
| 8 | Heat source: other | 3 | 2.0% | |
| 9 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 3 | 2.0% | |
| 10 | Hot ember or ash | 3 | 2.0% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 11 | 7.3% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Sumrall departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 96% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $200,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $175,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $35,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $25,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $20,000 | Fire in motor home, camper, recreational vehicle | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $15,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $15,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $15,000 | Fire in portable building, fixed location | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Sumrall sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 55,667 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,717 | 34.3 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,300 | 31.9 mi | |
| 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,964 | 31.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Firearms and explosives use | 3,684 | 29.3 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,180 | 32.7 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,857 | 33.9 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,640 | 33.7 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,442 | 33.4 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,354 | 31.6 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,174 | 31.4 mi | |
| 2020 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,135 | 49.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Firearms and explosives use | 2,063 | 33.4 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 39482 | 622 |
Six Mississippi cities with population within ±25% of Sumrall. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Sumrall.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.