Home› Ohio› Thornville
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Thornville, Ohio

In 2025, fire departments serving Thornville responded to 139 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $250K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C- Peak yr 2024 Perry County 1,595 residents 0 reporting departments 635 5-yr
Total incidents
139
-18.7% vs 2024
Building fires
38
Residential 66% Other 34%
Property loss
$741K
$452K structure · $289K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 68% of all calls.

139
Total Incidents
Building fires 38 27.3%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 22 15.8%
Unauthorized burning 12 8.6%
Authorized controlled burning 12 8.6%
Power line down 11 7.9%
All other categories 44 31.7%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Nov peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 19
Feb 3
Mar 16
Apr 14
May 15
Jun 11
Jul 10
Aug 6
Sep 12
Oct 7
Nov 21
Dec 5
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Thornville

635 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $2.1M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 84 —
2022 110 +31.0%
2023 131 +19.1%
2024 171 +30.5%
2025 139 -18.7%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 38 building fires Thornville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
52%
11
Cause undetermined
10%
2
Intentional / arson
5%
1
Equipment / heat source failure
19%
4
Under investigation
14%
3
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Thornville?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 97 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 21 21.6%
2 Undetermined 16 16.5%
3 Cooking area, kitchen 8 8.2%
4 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 8 8.2%
5 Wildland, woods 5 5.2%
6 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 4 4.1%
7 Outside area, other 4 4.1%
8 Other 3 3.1%
9 Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room 3 3.1%
10 Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch 3 3.1%
11 All other areas 22 22.7%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Thornville mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 37 38.1%
2 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 15 15.5%
3 Heat from powered equipment, other 9 9.3%
4 Arcing 6 6.2%
5 Hot ember or ash 6 6.2%
6 Hot or smoldering object, other 5 5.2%
7 Heat source: other 3 3.1%
8 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 2 2.1%
9 Cigarette 2 2.1%
10 Flame/torch used for lighting 2 2.1%
11 All other sources 10 10.3%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $449K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Thornville departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 99% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $250,000 Building fires Major Investigated
2 $83,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $50,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
4 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $20,000 Camper or recreational vehicle (RV) fire Significant Investigated
6 $10,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
7 $8,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
8 $8,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
05 How Thornville compares

Thornville vs Ohio vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Thornville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

87.15
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Thornville
87.15
OH avg
11.06
US avg
7.48
23.82
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Thornville
23.82
OH avg
1.94
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Thornville
0
OH avg
10.3
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Thornville

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,875 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 355 39.6 mi
2013 Arson/incendiarism 280 40.4 mi
2013 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 150 33.9 mi
2015 Power generation/transmission/distribution 131 40.5 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 100 46.6 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 90 46.8 mi
2013 Recreation and ceremony 75 41.3 mi
2013 Power generation/transmission/distribution 53 27.6 mi
2015 Debris and open burning 50 2.6 mi
2015 Debris and open burning 50 15.9 mi
2015 Arson/incendiarism 50 20.4 mi
2014 Debris and open burning 50 23.3 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Thornville do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 43076 634
2 43739 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Thornville

Six Ohio cities with population within ±25% of Thornville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.