In 2025, fire departments serving Turbeville responded to 21 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $5K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Turbeville's departments reported 21 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 42 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 71% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Apr dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
208 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $598K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 39 | — | |
| 2022 | 56 | +43.6% | |
| 2023 | 56 | +0.0% | |
| 2024 | 36 | -35.7% | |
| 2025* | 21 | — |
* Well below Turbeville's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 3 building fires Turbeville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 131 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 82 | 62.6% | |
| 2 | Cooking area, kitchen | 9 | 6.9% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 8 | 6.1% | |
| 4 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 5 | Outside area, other | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 6 | Wildland, woods | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 7 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 3 | 2.3% | |
| 8 | Wall surface: exterior | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 9 | Exterior, exposed surface | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 10 | Other | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 9 | 6.9% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Turbeville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 104 | 79.4% | |
| 2 | Hot ember or ash | 4 | 3.1% | |
| 3 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 4 | 3.1% | |
| 4 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 3 | 2.3% | |
| 5 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 6 | Heat, spark from friction | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 7 | Radiated heat from another fire | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 8 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 9 | Arcing | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 10 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 0.8% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 7 | 5.3% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Turbeville departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $5,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $500 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $50 | Attempted burning, illegal action, other | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Turbeville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 27,124 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,684 | 27.2 mi | |
| 1997 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,150 | 47.2 mi | |
| 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,484 | 47.7 mi | |
| 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,922 | 38.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,695 | 40.9 mi | |
| 2002 | Recreation and ceremony | 1,600 | 32.3 mi | |
| 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,200 | 20.6 mi | |
| 2017 | Recreation and ceremony | 1,115 | 48.7 mi | |
| 2007 | Debris and open burning | 985 | 40.4 mi | |
| 1993 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 950 | 38.0 mi | |
| 1994 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 862 | 22.9 mi | |
| 1997 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 800 | 49.7 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six South Carolina cities with population within ±25% of Turbeville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.