In 2025, fire departments serving Abingdon responded to 219 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $400K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 51% of all calls.
Feb peaks. Sep dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
798 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $4.8M cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 87 | — | |
| 2022 | 158 | — | |
| 2023 | 180 | +13.9% | |
| 2024 | 154 | -14.4% | |
| 2025 | 219 | +42.2% |
* Well below Abingdon's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 50 building fires Abingdon departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 349 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 68 | 19.5% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 55 | 15.8% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 40 | 11.5% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 28 | 8.0% | |
| 5 | Cooking area, kitchen | 27 | 7.7% | |
| 6 | Other | 20 | 5.7% | |
| 7 | Wildland, woods | 10 | 2.9% | |
| 8 | Vehicle area, other | 8 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 7 | 2.0% | |
| 10 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 7 | 2.0% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 79 | 22.6% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Abingdon mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 179 | 51.3% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 30 | 8.6% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 28 | 8.0% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 20 | 5.7% | |
| 5 | Heat source: other | 18 | 5.2% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 11 | 3.2% | |
| 7 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 9 | 2.6% | |
| 8 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 9 | 2.6% | |
| 9 | Cigarette | 8 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Hot ember or ash | 5 | 1.4% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 32 | 9.2% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Abingdon departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 85% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $400,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $231,500 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $173,800 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $146,900 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $140,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $100,000 | Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $60,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Abingdon sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
8 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 0 | |
| 30-39 | 2 | |
| 40-49 | 0 | |
| 50-59 | 2 | |
| 60-69 | 3 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 42,057 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 5,832 | 43.7 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 4,850 | 42.2 mi | |
| 2000 | Debris and open burning | 2,738 | 48.4 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,402 | 47.6 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,050 | 37.6 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,000 | 46.6 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,727 | 34.9 mi | |
| 2013 | Smoking | 1,509 | 45.0 mi | |
| 2008 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,500 | 37.5 mi | |
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,485 | 49.9 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,450 | 44.6 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,283 | 46.0 mi |
Top 7 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Virginia cities with population within ±25% of Abingdon. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
4 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Abingdon.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.