Home› Maine› Acton
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Acton, Maine

In 2025, fire departments serving Acton responded to 70 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $150K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C+ Peak yr 2022 York County 2,671 residents 1 reporting departments 319 5-yr
Total incidents
70
+18.6% vs 2024
Building fires
8
Residential 63% Other 37%
Property loss
$407K
$307K structure · $100K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 73% of all calls.

70
Total Incidents
Power line down 19 27.1%
Unauthorized burning 11 15.7%
Forest, woods or wildland fire 9 12.9%
Building fires 8 11.4%
Arcing, shorted electrical equipment 4 5.7%
All other categories 19 27.1%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Aug peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 1
Feb 8
Mar 6
Apr 3
May 9
Jun 6
Jul 2
Aug 14
Sep 2
Oct 6
Nov 8
Dec 5
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Acton

319 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $309K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 64 —
2022 89 +39.1%
2023* 37 —
2024 59 —
2025 70 +18.6%

* Well below Acton's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 8 building fires Acton departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
62%
5
Cause undetermined
12%
1
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
12%
1
Under investigation
12%
1
Act of nature (lightning)
2%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Acton?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 58 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Wildland, woods 11 19.0%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 8 13.8%
3 Outside area, other 7 12.1%
4 Wall surface: exterior 5 8.6%
5 Undetermined 5 8.6%
6 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 3 5.2%
7 Storage room, area, tank, or bin 2 3.4%
8 Substructure area or space, crawl space 2 3.4%
9 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 2 3.4%
10 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 2 3.4%
11 All other areas 11 19.0%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Acton mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 16 27.6%
2 Heat from powered equipment, other 6 10.3%
3 Arcing 6 10.3%
4 Hot ember or ash 6 10.3%
5 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 3 5.2%
6 Heat from direct flame, convection currents 3 5.2%
7 Conducted heat from another fire 3 5.2%
8 Heat source: other 2 3.4%
9 Flame/torch used for lighting 2 3.4%
10 Lightning 2 3.4%
11 All other sources 9 15.5%
04 The biggest fires

3 fires · $307K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Acton departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $150,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $150,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $7,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Acton compares

Acton vs Maine vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Acton sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

26.21
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Acton
26.21
ME avg
10.96
US avg
7.48
3
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Acton
3
ME avg
1.72
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Acton
0
ME avg
3.6
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Acton

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,994 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 329 36.4 mi
2018 Debris and open burning 314 16.0 mi
2015 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 275 24.1 mi
2001 Misuse of fire by a minor 236 34.4 mi
2004 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 139 39.9 mi
2015 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 92 32.0 mi
1995 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 60 42.0 mi
2015 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 59 40.7 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 54 49.5 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 50 8.6 mi
2016 Arson/incendiarism 42 27.7 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 41 30.3 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Acton do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 04001 316
2 04011 2
3 04095 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Acton

Six Maine cities with population within ±25% of Acton. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Acton?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Acton.

Acton Fire Department
1725 Route 109
FDID R1010Volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.