Home› Illinois› Algonquin
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Algonquin, Illinois

In 2025, fire departments serving Algonquin responded to 165 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $350K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A Peak yr 2024 McHenry County 29,888 residents 0 reporting departments 750 5-yr
Total incidents
165
+0.0% vs 2024
Building fires
32
Residential 66% Other 34%
Property loss
$1.8M
$1.0M structure · $753K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 1
0 civilian deaths · 1 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 76% of all calls.

165
Total Incidents
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 38 23.0%
Building fires 32 19.4%
Power line down 26 15.8%
Carbon monoxide incident 19 11.5%
Electrical wiring/equipment problem, other 10 6.1%
All other categories 40 24.2%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Aug peaks. Mar dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 6
Feb 12
Mar 3
Apr 15
May 12
Jun 24
Jul 13
Aug 31
Sep 15
Oct 17
Nov 4
Dec 13
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Algonquin

750 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $2.5M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 141 —
2022 160 +13.5%
2023 119 -25.6%
2024 165 +38.7%
2025 165 +0.0%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 32 building fires Algonquin departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
32%
6
Cause undetermined
26%
5
Intentional / arson
11%
2
Equipment / heat source failure
11%
2
Under investigation
21%
4
Act of nature (lightning)
-1%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Algonquin?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 111 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 22 19.8%
2 Outside area, other 10 9.0%
3 Other 9 8.1%
4 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 8 7.2%
5 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 7 6.3%
6 Cooking area, kitchen 6 5.4%
7 Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. 4 3.6%
8 Exterior, exposed surface 4 3.6%
9 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 4 3.6%
10 Wildland, woods 4 3.6%
11 All other areas 33 29.7%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Algonquin mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 57 51.4%
2 Hot ember or ash 13 11.7%
3 Heat from powered equipment, other 9 8.1%
4 Hot or smoldering object, other 6 5.4%
5 Arcing 4 3.6%
6 Heat source: other 3 2.7%
7 Lightning 3 2.7%
8 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 2 1.8%
9 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 2 1.8%
10 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 2 1.8%
11 All other sources 10 9.0%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $1.0M in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Algonquin departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 99% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $350,000 Building fires Major Investigated
2 $325,000 Building fires Major Investigated
3 $200,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $100,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $20,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
7 $15,000 Outside equipment fire Significant Investigated
8 $10,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
05 How Algonquin compares

Algonquin vs Illinois vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Algonquin sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

5.52
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Algonquin
5.52
IL avg
10.41
US avg
7.48
1.07
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Algonquin
1.07
IL avg
1.55
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Algonquin
0
IL avg
9.9
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Algonquin

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 2,341 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2015 Misuse of fire by a minor 750 30.8 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 450 29.8 mi
2010 Debris and open burning 100 46.0 mi
2010 Equipment and vehicle use 80 33.5 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 80 14.3 mi
2020 Arson/incendiarism 76 44.8 mi
2003 Recreation and ceremony 75 12.8 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 70 45.4 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 60 37.5 mi
2010 Debris and open burning 53 46.1 mi
2014 Arson/incendiarism 50 14.7 mi
2015 Debris and open burning 50 49.4 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Algonquin do fires concentrate?

Top 6 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 60102 734
2 60010 5
3 60142 5
4 60118 3
5 60156 2
6 60031 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Algonquin

Six Illinois cities with population within ±25% of Algonquin. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.