In 2025, fire departments serving Allentown responded to 432 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $20K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Allentown's departments reported 432 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 1,126 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 51% of all calls.
Sep peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
5,629 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $1.0M cumulative property loss. 4 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 1,274 | — | |
| 2022 | 1,483 | +16.4% | |
| 2023 | 1,338 | -9.8% | |
| 2024 | 1,102 | -17.6% | |
| 2025* | 432 | — |
* Well below Allentown's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 51 building fires Allentown departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 1,594 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cooking area, kitchen | 332 | 20.8% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 279 | 17.5% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 274 | 17.2% | |
| 4 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 120 | 7.5% | |
| 5 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 53 | 3.3% | |
| 6 | Vehicle area, other | 42 | 2.6% | |
| 7 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 39 | 2.4% | |
| 8 | Other | 36 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 31 | 1.9% | |
| 10 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 25 | 1.6% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 363 | 22.8% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Allentown mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 1,036 | 65.0% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 130 | 8.2% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 99 | 6.2% | |
| 4 | Heat source: other | 78 | 4.9% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 44 | 2.8% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 36 | 2.3% | |
| 7 | Hot ember or ash | 21 | 1.3% | |
| 8 | Cigarette | 21 | 1.3% | |
| 9 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 17 | 1.1% | |
| 10 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 16 | 1.0% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 96 | 6.0% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Allentown departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $20,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $14,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $1,000 | Outside equipment fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $1 | Cooking fire, confined to container | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Allentown sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
73 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 22 | |
| 10-19 | 4 | |
| 20-29 | 9 | |
| 30-39 | 12 | |
| 40-49 | 5 | |
| 50-59 | 8 | |
| 60-69 | 8 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 4 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 22,632 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 7,949 | 45.4 mi | |
| 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,265 | 39.1 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,126 | 46.5 mi | |
| 2008 | Arson/incendiarism | 995 | 47.9 mi | |
| 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 848 | 17.2 mi | |
| 2020 | Arson/incendiarism | 812 | 39.3 mi | |
| 1995 | Recreation and ceremony | 750 | 34.3 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 741 | 30.4 mi | |
| 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | 674 | 38.0 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 647 | 41.9 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 623 | 33.3 mi | |
| 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 615 | 47.8 mi |
Top 10 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Pennsylvania cities with population within ±25% of Allentown. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
5 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Allentown.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.