In 2025, fire departments serving Arapaho responded to 16 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Arapaho's departments reported 16 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 27 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 94% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
135 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 23 | — | |
| 2022 | 28 | +21.7% | |
| 2023 | 35 | +25.0% | |
| 2024 | 33 | -5.7% | |
| 2025* | 16 | — |
* Well below Arapaho's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 0 building fires Arapaho departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 83 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 40 | 48.2% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 16 | 19.3% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 9 | 10.8% | |
| 4 | Other | 7 | 8.4% | |
| 5 | Vehicle area, other | 5 | 6.0% | |
| 6 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 2 | 2.4% | |
| 7 | Storage area, other | 1 | 1.2% | |
| 8 | Structural area, other | 1 | 1.2% | |
| 9 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 1 | 1.2% | |
| 10 | Exterior, exposed surface | 1 | 1.2% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Arapaho mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 57 | 68.7% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 10 | 12.0% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 3 | 3.6% | |
| 4 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 2 | 2.4% | |
| 5 | Heat, spark from friction | 2 | 2.4% | |
| 6 | Hot ember or ash | 2 | 2.4% | |
| 7 | Fireworks | 2 | 2.4% | |
| 8 | Lightning | 2 | 2.4% | |
| 9 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 1.2% | |
| 10 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 1.2% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 1 | 1.2% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Arapaho sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 452,305 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 286,196 | 23.5 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 52,790 | 19.4 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 41,497 | 44.7 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 21,400 | 48.6 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,530 | 30.3 mi | |
| 2008 | Debris and open burning | 5,000 | 45.3 mi | |
| 1998 | Debris and open burning | 3,410 | 44.8 mi | |
| 2006 | Firearms and explosives use | 3,000 | 45.6 mi | |
| 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | 3,000 | 41.1 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,950 | 47.7 mi | |
| 2014 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2,657 | 35.2 mi | |
| 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2,484 | 45.9 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Arapaho. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Arapaho.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.