In 2025, fire departments serving Aynor responded to 92 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $150K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 56% of all calls.
Feb peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
375 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $4.4M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 85 | — | |
| 2022 | 67 | -21.2% | |
| 2023 | 57 | -14.9% | |
| 2024 | 74 | +29.8% | |
| 2025 | 92 | +24.3% |
For the 9 building fires Aynor departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 133 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 38 | 28.6% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 19 | 14.3% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 11 | 8.3% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 8 | 6.0% | |
| 5 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 7 | 5.3% | |
| 6 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 6 | 4.5% | |
| 7 | Other | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 4 | 3.0% | |
| 9 | Wall surface: exterior | 3 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 30 | 22.6% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Aynor mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 70 | 52.6% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 13 | 9.8% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 11 | 8.3% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 6 | 4.5% | |
| 5 | Cigarette lighter | 6 | 4.5% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 7 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 4 | 3.0% | |
| 8 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 3 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 3 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Heat source: other | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 10 | 7.5% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Aynor departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 86% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $150,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $85,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $60,000 | Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $50,000 | Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $30,000 | Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $25,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Aynor sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
5 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 1 | |
| 30-39 | 0 | |
| 40-49 | 0 | |
| 50-59 | 0 | |
| 60-69 | 1 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 38,218 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Debris and open burning | 19,130 | 20.5 mi | |
| 1997 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,150 | 26.1 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,911 | 28.3 mi | |
| 2002 | Debris and open burning | 1,648 | 23.2 mi | |
| 2011 | Fireworks | 1,155 | 23.1 mi | |
| 2009 | Debris and open burning | 1,089 | 30.8 mi | |
| 1994 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 862 | 49.1 mi | |
| 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 844 | 23.7 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 795 | 48.8 mi | |
| 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | 765 | 12.2 mi | |
| 1998 | Debris and open burning | 750 | 26.0 mi | |
| 1993 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 541 | 27.0 mi |
Top 8 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six South Carolina cities with population within ±25% of Aynor. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.