Home› Delaware› Bridgeville
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Bridgeville, Delaware

In 2025, fire departments serving Bridgeville responded to 98 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $50K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C Peak yr 2024 Sussex County 2,590 residents 1 reporting departments 487 5-yr
Total incidents
98
-3.9% vs 2024
Building fires
9
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$85K
$52K structure · $33K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 38% of all calls.

98
Total Incidents
Building fires 9 9.2%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 8 8.2%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 7 7.1%
Electrical wiring/equipment problem, other 7 7.1%
Carbon monoxide incident 6 6.1%
All other categories 61 62.2%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Feb peaks. Sep dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 11
Feb 15
Mar 9
Apr 5
May 7
Jun 13
Jul 5
Aug 9
Sep 4
Oct 10
Nov 4
Dec 6
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Bridgeville

487 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $1.8M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 99 —
2022 91 -8.1%
2023 97 +6.6%
2024 102 +5.2%
2025 98 -3.9%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 9 building fires Bridgeville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
50%
14
Cause undetermined
11%
3
Intentional / arson
25%
7
Equipment / heat source failure
0%
0
Under investigation
11%
3
Act of nature (lightning)
3%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Bridgeville?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 138 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 36 26.1%
2 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 24 17.4%
3 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 13 9.4%
4 Outside area, other 13 9.4%
5 Other 11 8.0%
6 Cooking area, kitchen 10 7.2%
7 Wildland, woods 7 5.1%
8 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 4 2.9%
9 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 4 2.9%
10 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 2 1.4%
11 All other areas 14 10.1%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Bridgeville mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 94 68.1%
2 Heat source: other 7 5.1%
3 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 5 3.6%
4 Hot ember or ash 4 2.9%
5 Match 4 2.9%
6 Heat from powered equipment, other 3 2.2%
7 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 3 2.2%
8 Arcing 2 1.4%
9 Hot or smoldering object, other 2 1.4%
10 Heat, spark from friction 2 1.4%
11 All other sources 12 8.7%
04 The biggest fires

4 fires · $52K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Bridgeville departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $2,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $1 Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire Significant Investigated
4 $1 Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire Significant Investigated
05 How Bridgeville compares

Bridgeville vs Delaware vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Bridgeville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

37.84
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Bridgeville
37.84
DE avg
25.32
US avg
7.48
3.47
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Bridgeville
3.47
DE avg
6.22
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Bridgeville
0
DE avg
7
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Bridgeville

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 36,800 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2007 Debris and open burning 3,208 29.9 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,910 31.3 mi
2009 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,124 32.1 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,066 31.7 mi
1995 Arson/incendiarism 2,000 34.2 mi
2005 Arson/incendiarism 1,800 32.3 mi
2001 Arson/incendiarism 1,756 31.8 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,700 29.7 mi
2006 Arson/incendiarism 1,596 33.6 mi
2001 Arson/incendiarism 1,580 31.0 mi
2014 Arson/incendiarism 1,535 49.0 mi
2020 Natural 1,518 49.0 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Bridgeville do fires concentrate?

Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 19933 476
2 19973 8
3 19964 2
4 19733 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Bridgeville

Six Delaware cities with population within ±25% of Bridgeville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Bridgeville?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Bridgeville.

Bridgeville Volunteer Fire Company
314 Market ST
FDID 400722 paid · 61 volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.