In 2025, fire departments serving Selbyville responded to 79 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $30K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 62% of all calls.
Feb peaks. Nov dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
432 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $942K cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 73 | — | |
| 2022 | 85 | +16.4% | |
| 2023 | 87 | +2.4% | |
| 2024 | 108 | +24.1% | |
| 2025 | 79 | -26.9% |
For the 11 building fires Selbyville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 55 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 10 | 18.2% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 8 | 14.5% | |
| 3 | Vehicle area, other | 6 | 10.9% | |
| 4 | Other | 5 | 9.1% | |
| 5 | Outside area, other | 4 | 7.3% | |
| 6 | Storage area, other | 3 | 5.5% | |
| 7 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 3.6% | |
| 8 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 2 | 3.6% | |
| 9 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 2 | 3.6% | |
| 10 | Assembly area - less than 100 persons | 1 | 1.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 12 | 21.8% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Selbyville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 31 | 56.4% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 10 | 18.2% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 4 | 7.3% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 4 | 7.3% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 2 | 3.6% | |
| 6 | Lightning | 2 | 3.6% | |
| 7 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 1.8% | |
| 8 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 1.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Selbyville departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $30,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $15,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $2,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Selbyville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 34,504 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2007 | Debris and open burning | 3,208 | 41.3 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,910 | 40.7 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,124 | 42.6 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,066 | 42.2 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,800 | 41.2 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,756 | 40.7 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,700 | 39.4 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,596 | 45.3 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,580 | 39.0 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,367 | 45.4 mi | |
| 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,348 | 45.6 mi | |
| 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,250 | 31.3 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Delaware cities with population within ±25% of Selbyville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Selbyville.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.