In 2025, fire departments serving Buford responded to 66 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $65K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Buford's departments reported 66 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 402 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Unauthorized burning lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 52% of all calls.
Nov peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
2,012 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $22.8M cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 425 | — | |
| 2022 | 471 | +10.8% | |
| 2023 | 503 | +6.8% | |
| 2024 | 547 | +8.7% | |
| 2025* | 66 | — |
* Well below Buford's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 3 building fires Buford departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 524 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 129 | 24.6% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 69 | 13.2% | |
| 3 | Wildland, woods | 56 | 10.7% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 50 | 9.5% | |
| 5 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 31 | 5.9% | |
| 6 | Outside area, other | 16 | 3.1% | |
| 7 | Exterior, exposed surface | 15 | 2.9% | |
| 8 | Cooking area, kitchen | 14 | 2.7% | |
| 9 | Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch | 14 | 2.7% | |
| 10 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 13 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 117 | 22.3% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Buford mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 199 | 38.0% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 44 | 8.4% | |
| 3 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 34 | 6.5% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 34 | 6.5% | |
| 5 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 29 | 5.5% | |
| 6 | Arcing | 24 | 4.6% | |
| 7 | Multiple heat sources including multiple ignitions | 19 | 3.6% | |
| 8 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 18 | 3.4% | |
| 9 | Heat, spark from friction | 17 | 3.2% | |
| 10 | Fireworks | 15 | 2.9% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 91 | 17.4% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Buford departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 99% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $65,000 | Fire in mobile home used as fixed residence | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $35,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $20,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $13,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $12,500 | Water vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $10,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $5,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $500 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Buford sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
20 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 4 | |
| 30-39 | 3 | |
| 40-49 | 2 | |
| 50-59 | 4 | |
| 60-69 | 3 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 1 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 13,662 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,048 | 39.4 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,040 | 41.4 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 915 | 36.7 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 802 | 36.2 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 780 | 31.0 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 680 | 45.5 mi | |
| 1994 | Recreation and ceremony | 622 | 48.6 mi | |
| 2008 | Debris and open burning | 542 | 38.0 mi | |
| 2016 | Equipment and vehicle use | 528 | 41.9 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 500 | 49.0 mi | |
| 2016 | Equipment and vehicle use | 471 | 43.1 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 455 | 36.1 mi |
Top 7 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Georgia cities with population within ±25% of Buford. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.