Home› Tennessee› Carthage
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Carthage, Tennessee

In 2025, fire departments serving Carthage responded to 29 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $670K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B Peak yr 2024 Smith County 2,454 residents 3 reporting departments 166 5-yr
Total incidents
29
-27.5% vs 2024
Building fires
2
Residential 50% Other 50%
Property loss
$972K
$672K structure · $300K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 62% of all calls.

29
Total Incidents
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 7 24.1%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 4 13.8%
Arcing, shorted electrical equipment 3 10.3%
Building fires 2 6.9%
Passenger vehicle fire 2 6.9%
All other categories 11 37.9%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jan peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 6
Feb 4
Mar 5
Apr 3
May 2
Jun 0
Jul 5
Aug 1
Sep 1
Oct 2
Nov 0
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Carthage

166 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $2.6M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 28 —
2022 37 +32.1%
2023 32 -13.5%
2024 40 +25.0%
2025 29 -27.5%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 2 building fires Carthage departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
55%
6
Cause undetermined
0%
0
Intentional / arson
18%
2
Equipment / heat source failure
18%
2
Under investigation
9%
1
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Carthage?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 58 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Cooking area, kitchen 8 13.8%
2 Undetermined 8 13.8%
3 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 7 12.1%
4 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 6 10.3%
5 Other 5 8.6%
6 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 2 3.4%
7 Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room 2 3.4%
8 Structural area, other 2 3.4%
9 Roof surface: exterior 2 3.4%
10 Vehicle area, other 2 3.4%
11 All other areas 14 24.1%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Carthage mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 19 32.8%
2 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 15 25.9%
3 Arcing 5 8.6%
4 Heat source: other 4 6.9%
5 Heat from powered equipment, other 2 3.4%
6 Lightning 2 3.4%
7 Heat from direct flame, convection currents 2 3.4%
8 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 1 1.7%
9 Hot or smoldering object, other 1 1.7%
10 Heat, spark from friction 1 1.7%
11 All other sources 6 10.3%
04 The biggest fires

4 fires · $672K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Carthage departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $670,000 Building fires Major Investigated
2 $1,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
3 $500 Camper or recreational vehicle (RV) fire Significant Investigated
4 $250 Fire, other Significant Investigated
05 How Carthage compares

Carthage vs Tennessee vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Carthage sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

11.82
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Carthage
11.82
TN avg
11.06
US avg
7.48
0.81
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Carthage
0.81
TN avg
1.37
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Carthage
0
TN avg
15
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Carthage

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 14,038 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2001 Arson/incendiarism 4,646 46.2 mi
2001 Arson/incendiarism 2,214 41.9 mi
2016 Recreation and ceremony 800 47.7 mi
2001 Arson/incendiarism 800 47.4 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 620 46.1 mi
2000 Arson/incendiarism 457 41.1 mi
2007 Arson/incendiarism 420 48.3 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 328 34.7 mi
2015 Arson/incendiarism 300 49.9 mi
2001 Arson/incendiarism 282 43.3 mi
2000 Arson/incendiarism 282 47.3 mi
2007 Arson/incendiarism 254 46.1 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Carthage do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 37030 164
2 38563 2
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Carthage

Six Tennessee cities with population within ±25% of Carthage. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Carthage?

3 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Carthage.

Carthage Fire Department
213 Spring ST
FDID 801131 paid · 1 volunteer
Rock City Rome VFD
653 Lebanon Hwy HWY
FDID 80771Volunteer
Smith County FD Central District
513 Jefferson Ave E
FDID 80731
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.