In 2025, fire departments serving Clover responded to 17 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $67K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Passenger vehicle fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 59% of all calls.
Mar peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
66 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $269K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 13 | — | |
| 2022 | 8 | -38.5% | |
| 2023 | 21 | +162.5% | |
| 2024* | 7 | — | |
| 2025 | 17 | — |
* Well below Clover's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 3 building fires Clover departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 21 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 4 | 19.0% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 3 | 14.3% | |
| 3 | Other | 2 | 9.5% | |
| 4 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 2 | 9.5% | |
| 5 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 2 | 9.5% | |
| 6 | Function area, other | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 7 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 8 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 9 | Storage area, other | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 10 | Conduit, pipe, utility, or ventilation shaft | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 3 | 14.3% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Clover mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 9 | 42.9% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 3 | 14.3% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 9.5% | |
| 4 | Lightning | 2 | 9.5% | |
| 5 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 6 | Arcing | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 7 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 8 | Chemical reaction | 1 | 4.8% | |
| 9 | Flying brand, ember, spark | 1 | 4.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Clover departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $67,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $50,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $30,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $30,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $25,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $12,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $7,500 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $1,000 | Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Clover sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 9,926 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,030 | 46.6 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,778 | 49.6 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,036 | 44.6 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 865 | 35.3 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 456 | 28.1 mi | |
| 2002 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 400 | 44.7 mi | |
| 1999 | Natural | 400 | 47.4 mi | |
| 2006 | Natural | 380 | 47.7 mi | |
| 2009 | Debris and open burning | 370 | 45.7 mi | |
| 2001 | Debris and open burning | 260 | 36.0 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 216 | 37.7 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 172 | 35.1 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Virginia cities with population within ±25% of Clover. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Clover.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.