In 2025, fire departments serving Copan responded to 16 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $40K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Copan's departments reported 16 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 27 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 56% of all calls.
May peaks. Jul dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
137 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $266K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 25 | — | |
| 2022 | 35 | +40.0% | |
| 2023 | 20 | -42.9% | |
| 2024 | 41 | +105.0% | |
| 2025* | 16 | — |
* Well below Copan's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 2 building fires Copan departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 43 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 13 | 30.2% | |
| 2 | Wildland, woods | 8 | 18.6% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 7 | 16.3% | |
| 4 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 4 | 9.3% | |
| 5 | Storage: supplies or tools; dead storage | 3 | 7.0% | |
| 6 | Ceiling & floor assembly, crawl space b/t stories | 2 | 4.7% | |
| 7 | Storage room, area, tank, or bin | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 8 | Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Exterior, exposed surface | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 2 | 4.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Copan mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 17 | 39.5% | |
| 2 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 6 | 14.0% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 5 | 11.6% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 5 | 11.6% | |
| 5 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 4.7% | |
| 6 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 2 | 4.7% | |
| 7 | Heat from undetermined smoking material | 2 | 4.7% | |
| 8 | Heat source: other | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Heat, spark from friction | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 1 | 2.3% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Copan departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $40,000 | Fire in mobile home used as fixed residence | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $20,000 | Fire in mobile prop. used as a fixed struc., other | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $5,000 | Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Copan sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 277,133 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 25,650 | 46.9 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 22,787 | 9.6 mi | |
| 2018 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 20,307 | 32.6 mi | |
| 2014 | Debris and open burning | 17,683 | 34.6 mi | |
| 2014 | Debris and open burning | 14,910 | 42.0 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 14,000 | 6.8 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 12,468 | 6.4 mi | |
| 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,000 | 24.2 mi | |
| 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,000 | 39.4 mi | |
| 2011 | Debris and open burning | 11,382 | 47.4 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 11,258 | 17.3 mi | |
| 2018 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 10,816 | 46.3 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Copan. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Copan.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.