In 2025, fire departments serving Cornersville responded to 52 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $1K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 54% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Nov dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
250 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $332K cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 58 | — | |
| 2022 | 40 | -31.0% | |
| 2023* | 28 | — | |
| 2024 | 72 | — | |
| 2025 | 52 | -27.8% |
* Well below Cornersville's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 8 building fires Cornersville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 79 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 21 | 26.6% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 10 | 12.7% | |
| 3 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 8 | 10.1% | |
| 4 | Undetermined | 6 | 7.6% | |
| 5 | Vehicle area, other | 5 | 6.3% | |
| 6 | Outside area, other | 5 | 6.3% | |
| 7 | Cooking area, kitchen | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 9 | Exterior, exposed surface | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 10 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 13 | 16.5% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Cornersville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 20 | 25.3% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 16 | 20.3% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 7 | 8.9% | |
| 4 | Incendiary device | 5 | 6.3% | |
| 5 | Heat from undetermined smoking material | 4 | 5.1% | |
| 6 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 7 | Hot ember or ash | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 9 | Heat source: other | 2 | 2.5% | |
| 10 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 14 | 17.7% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Cornersville departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,000 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Cornersville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
7 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 1 | |
| 20-29 | 2 | |
| 30-39 | 0 | |
| 40-49 | 2 | |
| 50-59 | 0 | |
| 60-69 | 1 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 4,642 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 516 | 43.9 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 328 | 45.7 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 312 | 40.2 mi | |
| 1995 | Smoking | 250 | 26.4 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 235 | 38.2 mi | |
| 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | 235 | 31.5 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 218 | 41.3 mi | |
| 1999 | Equipment and vehicle use | 200 | 40.9 mi | |
| 2006 | Recreation and ceremony | 200 | 45.1 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 191 | 42.4 mi | |
| 1999 | Debris and open burning | 179 | 31.2 mi | |
| 2007 | Debris and open burning | 174 | 42.2 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Tennessee cities with population within ±25% of Cornersville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
3 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Cornersville.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.