In 2025, fire departments serving Coshocton responded to 194 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $60K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 49% of all calls.
Mar peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
1,387 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $12.3M cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 242 | — | |
| 2022 | 412 | +70.2% | |
| 2023 | 267 | -35.2% | |
| 2024 | 272 | +1.9% | |
| 2025 | 194 | -28.7% |
For the 20 building fires Coshocton departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 259 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 44 | 17.0% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 34 | 13.1% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 30 | 11.6% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 23 | 8.9% | |
| 5 | Outside area, other | 17 | 6.6% | |
| 6 | Wildland, woods | 12 | 4.6% | |
| 7 | Wall surface: exterior | 10 | 3.9% | |
| 8 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 8 | 3.1% | |
| 9 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 8 | 3.1% | |
| 10 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 6 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 67 | 25.9% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Coshocton mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 106 | 40.9% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 30 | 11.6% | |
| 3 | Hot ember or ash | 23 | 8.9% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 22 | 8.5% | |
| 5 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 14 | 5.4% | |
| 6 | Cigarette lighter | 10 | 3.9% | |
| 7 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 9 | 3.5% | |
| 8 | Cigarette | 7 | 2.7% | |
| 9 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 6 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Heat source: other | 3 | 1.2% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 29 | 11.2% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Coshocton departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 87% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $60,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $40,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $30,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $25,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $25,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $10,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $10,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Coshocton sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
13 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 4 | |
| 20-29 | 1 | |
| 30-39 | 1 | |
| 40-49 | 2 | |
| 50-59 | 2 | |
| 60-69 | 1 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,487 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 175 | 41.0 mi | |
| 2015 | Debris and open burning | 171 | 38.7 mi | |
| 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 150 | 7.8 mi | |
| 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 100 | 46.1 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 100 | 10.5 mi | |
| 2013 | Recreation and ceremony | 75 | 16.8 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 60 | 44.4 mi | |
| 2014 | Debris and open burning | 60 | 40.5 mi | |
| 2015 | Debris and open burning | 50 | 41.4 mi | |
| 2015 | Debris and open burning | 50 | 36.2 mi | |
| 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | 50 | 35.2 mi | |
| 2014 | Debris and open burning | 50 | 16.2 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Ohio cities with population within ±25% of Coshocton. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Coshocton.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.