In 2025, fire departments serving Crafton responded to 34 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $60K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 74% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
230 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $170K cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 47 | — | |
| 2022 | 58 | +23.4% | |
| 2023 | 35 | -39.7% | |
| 2024 | 56 | +60.0% | |
| 2025 | 34 | -39.3% |
For the 9 building fires Crafton departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 25 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 6 | 24.0% | |
| 2 | Cooking area, kitchen | 5 | 20.0% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 4 | Undetermined | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 5 | Other | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 6 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 7 | Maintenance shop or area, paint shop or area | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 8 | Structural area, other | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 9 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 10 | Roof surface: exterior | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 4 | 16.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Crafton mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 15 | 60.0% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 4 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 2 | 8.0% | |
| 5 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 6 | Arcing | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 7 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 4.0% | |
| 8 | Cigarette lighter | 1 | 4.0% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Crafton departments in 2025. These 2 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $60,200 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $10,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Crafton sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,129 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 173 | 43.3 mi | |
| 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 152 | 44.6 mi | |
| 2013 | Debris and open burning | 106 | 35.8 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 78 | 47.3 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 60 | 40.9 mi | |
| 1992 | Arson/incendiarism | 48 | 25.4 mi | |
| 2006 | Debris and open burning | 45 | 47.1 mi | |
| 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 35 | 39.4 mi | |
| 2005 | Debris and open burning | 31 | 49.4 mi | |
| 2016 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 30 | 43.5 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30 | 36.3 mi | |
| 2016 | Debris and open burning | 30 | 43.5 mi |
Top 5 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Pennsylvania cities with population within ±25% of Crafton. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Crafton.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.