In 2025, fire departments serving Crandon responded to 33 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 82% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
144 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 26 | — | |
| 2022 | 30 | +15.4% | |
| 2023* | 11 | — | |
| 2024 | 44 | — | |
| 2025 | 33 | -25.0% |
* Well below Crandon's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 0 building fires Crandon departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 18 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vehicle area, other | 3 | 16.7% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 3 | 16.7% | |
| 3 | Other | 2 | 11.1% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 2 | 11.1% | |
| 5 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 2 | 11.1% | |
| 6 | Entrance way, lobby | 1 | 5.6% | |
| 7 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 1 | 5.6% | |
| 8 | Dining room, cafeteria bar area, beverage service | 1 | 5.6% | |
| 9 | Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room | 1 | 5.6% | |
| 10 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 1 | 5.6% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 1 | 5.6% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Crandon mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 15 | 83.3% | |
| 2 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 5.6% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 5.6% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 5.6% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Crandon sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,854 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 133 | 47.6 mi | |
| 2010 | Debris and open burning | 129 | 38.1 mi | |
| 2014 | Natural | 110 | 30.6 mi | |
| 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | 103 | 39.1 mi | |
| 2020 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 103 | 47.8 mi | |
| 2000 | Debris and open burning | 98 | 16.7 mi | |
| 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | 94 | 20.2 mi | |
| 2001 | Equipment and vehicle use | 88 | 40.1 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 82 | 48.8 mi | |
| 1992 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 77 | 15.8 mi | |
| 2001 | Other causes | 73 | 41.8 mi | |
| 2012 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 72 | 46.5 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Wisconsin cities with population within ±25% of Crandon. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Crandon.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.