In 2025, fire departments serving Daleville responded to 36 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $23K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Vehicle accident, general cleanup lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 67% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
254 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $970K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 55 | — | |
| 2022 | 37 | -32.7% | |
| 2023 | 56 | +51.4% | |
| 2024 | 70 | +25.0% | |
| 2025 | 36 | -48.6% |
For the 5 building fires Daleville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 106 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 48 | 45.3% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 10 | 9.4% | |
| 3 | Cooking area, kitchen | 9 | 8.5% | |
| 4 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 6 | 5.7% | |
| 5 | Outside area, other | 6 | 5.7% | |
| 6 | Storage area, other | 4 | 3.8% | |
| 7 | Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room | 3 | 2.8% | |
| 8 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 1.9% | |
| 9 | Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch | 2 | 1.9% | |
| 10 | Vehicle area, other | 2 | 1.9% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 14 | 13.2% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Daleville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 78 | 73.6% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 5 | 4.7% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 4 | 3.8% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 4 | 3.8% | |
| 5 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 3 | 2.8% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 2 | 1.9% | |
| 7 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 2 | 1.9% | |
| 8 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 2 | 1.9% | |
| 9 | Cigarette lighter | 2 | 1.9% | |
| 10 | Heat, spark from friction | 1 | 0.9% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 3 | 2.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Daleville departments in 2025. These 6 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $23,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $18,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $18,000 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $10,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $8,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $7,000 | Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Daleville sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 6,269 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Arson/incendiarism | 589 | 41.1 mi | |
| 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 566 | 33.8 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 471 | 47.3 mi | |
| 1999 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 320 | 49.1 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 312 | 9.3 mi | |
| 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 295 | 47.8 mi | |
| 2000 | Debris and open burning | 290 | 48.0 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 270 | 30.5 mi | |
| 1996 | Equipment and vehicle use | 250 | 40.9 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 237 | 35.1 mi | |
| 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | 225 | 39.5 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 204 | 47.7 mi |
Top 5 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Alabama cities with population within ±25% of Daleville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
3 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Daleville.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.