Home› Virginia› Dillwyn
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Dillwyn, Virginia

In 2025, fire departments serving Dillwyn responded to 27 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $40K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C- Peak yr 2021 Buckingham County 580 residents 2 reporting departments 140 5-yr
Total incidents
27
Not comparable with 2024 (incomplete reporting)
Building fires
4
Residential 50% Other 50%
Property loss
$75K
$50K structure · $25K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Accident, potential accident, other lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 93% of all calls.

27
Total Incidents
Accident, potential accident, other 10 37.0%
Forest, woods or wildland fire 6 22.2%
Building fires 4 14.8%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 4 14.8%
Passenger vehicle fire 1 3.7%
All other categories 2 7.4%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Feb peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 3
Feb 7
Mar 6
Apr 2
May 2
Jun 2
Jul 2
Aug 0
Sep 0
Oct 0
Nov 1
Dec 2
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Dillwyn

140 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $634K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 55 —
2022 26 -52.7%
2023 25 -3.8%
2024* 7 —
2025 27 —

* Well below Dillwyn's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 4 building fires Dillwyn departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
0%
0
Cause undetermined
50%
1
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
50%
1
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Dillwyn?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 38 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 12 31.6%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 6 15.8%
3 Outside area, other 4 10.5%
4 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 4 10.5%
5 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 3 7.9%
6 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 1 2.6%
7 Cooking area, kitchen 1 2.6%
8 Storage area, other 1 2.6%
9 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 1 2.6%
10 Maintenance shop or area, paint shop or area 1 2.6%
11 All other areas 4 10.5%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Dillwyn mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 27 71.1%
2 Heat from powered equipment, other 3 7.9%
3 Heat source: other 2 5.3%
4 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 2 5.3%
5 Hot ember or ash 2 5.3%
6 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 1 2.6%
7 Lightning 1 2.6%
04 The biggest fires

3 fires · $50K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Dillwyn departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $40,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $5,200 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
3 $5,000 Forest, woods or wildland fire Significant Investigated
05 How Dillwyn compares

Dillwyn vs Virginia vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Dillwyn sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

46.55
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Dillwyn
46.55
VA avg
8.68
US avg
7.48
6.9
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Dillwyn
6.9
VA avg
0.84
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Dillwyn
0
VA avg
6.1
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Dillwyn

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 38,963 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2016 Debris and open burning 11,229 40.8 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,505 31.5 mi
2006 Arson/incendiarism 2,871 49.8 mi
1999 Debris and open burning 2,206 47.3 mi
2018 Equipment and vehicle use 2,057 46.3 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,614 27.2 mi
1998 Recreation and ceremony 1,431 47.8 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,300 41.2 mi
1995 Debris and open burning 1,200 18.6 mi
2001 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,014 30.0 mi
2011 Power generation/transmission/distribution 907 45.1 mi
2001 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 865 40.0 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Dillwyn do fires concentrate?

Top 5 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 23936 119
2 23926 18
3 02902 1
4 23040 1
5 23921 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Dillwyn

Six Virginia cities with population within ±25% of Dillwyn. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Dillwyn?

2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Dillwyn.

Dillwyn Vol Fire Dept
FDID 02902Volunteer
Toga Vol Fire Dept
1779 Mount Rush HWY
FDID 02904Volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.