In 2025, fire departments serving Edmond responded to 737 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $20.0M building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 56% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Sep dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
3,161 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $41.8M cumulative property loss. 4 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 589 | — | |
| 2022 | 530 | -10.0% | |
| 2023 | 626 | +18.1% | |
| 2024 | 679 | +8.5% | |
| 2025 | 737 | +8.5% |
For the 52 building fires Edmond departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 1,116 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 302 | 27.1% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 206 | 18.5% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 127 | 11.4% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 63 | 5.6% | |
| 5 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 62 | 5.6% | |
| 6 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 39 | 3.5% | |
| 7 | Wildland, woods | 32 | 2.9% | |
| 8 | Vehicle area, other | 27 | 2.4% | |
| 9 | Other | 24 | 2.2% | |
| 10 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 20 | 1.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 214 | 19.2% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Edmond mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 601 | 53.9% | |
| 2 | Hot ember or ash | 65 | 5.8% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 59 | 5.3% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 58 | 5.2% | |
| 5 | Heat source: other | 53 | 4.7% | |
| 6 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 50 | 4.5% | |
| 7 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 26 | 2.3% | |
| 8 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 26 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Fireworks | 19 | 1.7% | |
| 10 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 19 | 1.7% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 140 | 12.5% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Edmond departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 96% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $20,000,000 | Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire | Catastrophic | Investigated |
| 2 | $957,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 3 | $700,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 4 | $300,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 5 | $200,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $174,250 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $150,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $150,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Edmond sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
32 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 1 | |
| 20-29 | 2 | |
| 30-39 | 5 | |
| 40-49 | 15 | |
| 50-59 | 8 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 122,219 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 26,000 | 21.2 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 16,423 | 48.3 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8,954 | 34.0 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8,600 | 28.1 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,887 | 43.1 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,580 | 45.5 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,400 | 29.1 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 5,000 | 49.2 mi | |
| 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,840 | 10.2 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,475 | 16.6 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,250 | 8.1 mi | |
| 2006 | Firearms and explosives use | 3,000 | 45.2 mi |
Top 10 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Edmond. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Edmond.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.