In 2025, fire departments serving Fort Gibson responded to 12 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 100% of all calls.
Jan peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
90 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $20K cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 29 | — | |
| 2022 | 30 | +3.4% | |
| 2023 | 14 | -53.3% | |
| 2024* | 5 | — | |
| 2025 | 12 | — |
* Well below Fort Gibson's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 2 building fires Fort Gibson departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 39 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 25 | 64.1% | |
| 2 | Other | 3 | 7.7% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 2 | 5.1% | |
| 4 | Outside area, other | 2 | 5.1% | |
| 5 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 2 | 5.1% | |
| 6 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 7 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 8 | Storage: supplies or tools; dead storage | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 9 | Vehicle area, other | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 10 | Wildland, woods | 1 | 2.6% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Fort Gibson mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 31 | 79.5% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 5.1% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 4 | Heat, spark from friction | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 5 | Cigarette lighter | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 6 | Candle | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 7 | Backfire from internal combustion engine | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 8 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 1 | 2.6% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Fort Gibson sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 139,379 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Debris and open burning | 21,860 | 49.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 14,000 | 7.2 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10,880 | 26.4 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 9,080 | 49.1 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 8,080 | 20.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 5,240 | 43.8 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 5,121 | 45.6 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,120 | 24.6 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,370 | 27.5 mi | |
| 2012 | Debris and open burning | 4,058 | 38.9 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,050 | 24.2 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 4,000 | 45.9 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Fort Gibson. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Fort Gibson.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.