Senators Warn Federal Firefighting Budget Nearly Exhausted With Fire Season Not Over
Five senators told Interior and USDA the $6 billion FY2026 fire suppression budget was nearly spent by Sept. 2, citing staffing gaps and firefighter deaths.
In 2025, fire departments serving Fort Morgan responded to 169 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 60% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
706 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 180 | — | |
| 2022 | 118 | -34.4% | |
| 2023 | 106 | -10.2% | |
| 2024 | 133 | +25.5% | |
| 2025 | 169 | +27.1% |
For the 15 building fires Fort Morgan departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 230 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 60 | 26.1% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 58 | 25.2% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 38 | 16.5% | |
| 4 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 21 | 9.1% | |
| 5 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 9 | 3.9% | |
| 6 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 7 | 3.0% | |
| 7 | Cooking area, kitchen | 5 | 2.2% | |
| 8 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 3 | 1.3% | |
| 9 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 3 | 1.3% | |
| 10 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 3 | 1.3% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 23 | 10.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Fort Morgan mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 137 | 59.6% | |
| 2 | Hot ember or ash | 32 | 13.9% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 16 | 7.0% | |
| 4 | Heat, spark from friction | 12 | 5.2% | |
| 5 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 7 | 3.0% | |
| 6 | Lightning | 6 | 2.6% | |
| 7 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 4 | 1.7% | |
| 8 | Fireworks | 4 | 1.7% | |
| 9 | Arcing | 3 | 1.3% | |
| 10 | Heat source: other | 2 | 0.9% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 7 | 3.0% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Fort Morgan sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 92,669 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 45,000 | 37.0 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,699 | 42.6 mi | |
| 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 4,300 | 39.0 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,200 | 23.5 mi | |
| 2018 | Natural | 3,713 | 21.5 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,200 | 37.7 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,000 | 26.0 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,000 | 43.4 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,800 | 42.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Natural | 1,500 | 48.8 mi | |
| 2010 | Natural | 1,200 | 43.8 mi | |
| 2019 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1,028 | 32.7 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Colorado cities with population within ±25% of Fort Morgan. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Fort Morgan.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.