Home› West Virginia› Glen Dale
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Glen Dale, West Virginia

In 2025, fire departments serving Glen Dale responded to 21 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $125K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B Peak yr 2022 Marshall County 1,614 residents 1 reporting departments 81 5-yr
Total incidents
21
Not comparable with 2024 (incomplete reporting)
Building fires
1
Residential 0% Other 100%
Property loss
$208K
$142K structure · $67K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 71% of all calls.

21
Total Incidents
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 5 23.8%
Power line down 4 19.0%
Fire, other 2 9.5%
Cooking fire, confined to container 2 9.5%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 2 9.5%
All other categories 6 28.6%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Apr peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 2
Feb 0
Mar 1
Apr 12
May 0
Jun 3
Jul 1
Aug 2
Sep 0
Oct 0
Nov 0
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Glen Dale

81 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $350K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 11 —
2022 24 +118.2%
2023 21 -12.5%
2024* 4 —
2025 21 —

* Well below Glen Dale's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 1 building fires Glen Dale departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
67%
2
Cause undetermined
33%
1
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
0%
0
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Glen Dale?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 20 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 3 15.0%
2 Wall surface: exterior 2 10.0%
3 Vehicle area, other 2 10.0%
4 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 2 10.0%
5 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 1 5.0%
6 Dining room, cafeteria bar area, beverage service 1 5.0%
7 Cooking area, kitchen 1 5.0%
8 Storage area, other 1 5.0%
9 Closet 1 5.0%
10 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 1 5.0%
11 All other areas 5 25.0%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Glen Dale mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 5 25.0%
2 Arcing 3 15.0%
3 Heat from powered equipment, other 2 10.0%
4 Hot or smoldering object, other 2 10.0%
5 Candle 2 10.0%
6 Heat spread from another fire, other 2 10.0%
7 Multiple heat sources including multiple ignitions 2 10.0%
8 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 1 5.0%
9 Hot ember or ash 1 5.0%
04 The biggest fires

4 fires · $142K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Glen Dale departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $125,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $15,000 Fire, other Significant Investigated
3 $1,000 Cooking fire, confined to container Significant Investigated
4 $500 Fire, other Significant Investigated
05 How Glen Dale compares

Glen Dale vs West Virginia vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Glen Dale sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

13.01
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Glen Dale
13.01
WV avg
22.96
US avg
7.48
0.62
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Glen Dale
0.62
WV avg
4.89
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Glen Dale
0
WV avg
41.5
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Glen Dale

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,520 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 175 49.9 mi
2012 Equipment and vehicle use 147 39.6 mi
2001 Smoking 102 38.4 mi
2019 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 100 20.0 mi
2013 Recreation and ceremony 75 49.1 mi
1999 Power generation/transmission/distribution 71 33.6 mi
2014 Equipment and vehicle use 70 48.9 mi
1998 Arson/incendiarism 62 42.1 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 60 40.1 mi
2001 Arson/incendiarism 55 37.9 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 50 39.2 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 49 5.8 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Glen Dale do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 26038 79
2 26041 2
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Glen Dale

Six West Virginia cities with population within ±25% of Glen Dale. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Glen Dale?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Glen Dale.

GLEN DALE VFD
402 WHEELING AVE
FDID 25105Volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.