Home› West Virginia› Harrisville
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Harrisville, West Virginia

In 2025, fire departments serving Harrisville responded to 39 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $5K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C+ Peak yr 2024 Ritchie County 1,620 residents 1 reporting departments 168 5-yr
Total incidents
39
-29.1% vs 2024
Building fires
1
Residential 0% Other 100%
Property loss
$13K
$12K structure · $1K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 74% of all calls.

39
Total Incidents
Power line down 8 20.5%
Forest, woods or wildland fire 7 17.9%
Vehicle accident, general cleanup 7 17.9%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 4 10.3%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 3 7.7%
All other categories 10 25.6%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Sep dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 6
Feb 4
Mar 12
Apr 3
May 7
Jun 4
Jul 1
Aug 2
Sep 0
Oct 0
Nov 0
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Harrisville

168 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $843K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 22 —
2022 32 +45.5%
2023* 20 —
2024 55 —
2025 39 -29.1%

* Well below Harrisville's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 1 building fires Harrisville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
62%
5
Cause undetermined
12%
1
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
12%
1
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
14%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Harrisville?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 39 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 20 51.3%
2 Wildland, woods 5 12.8%
3 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 3 7.7%
4 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 2 5.1%
5 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 1 2.6%
6 Dining room, cafeteria bar area, beverage service 1 2.6%
7 Laundry area, wash house (laundry) 1 2.6%
8 Storage area, other 1 2.6%
9 Closet 1 2.6%
10 Wall assembly 1 2.6%
11 All other areas 3 7.7%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Harrisville mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 24 61.5%
2 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 6 15.4%
3 Arcing 2 5.1%
4 Lightning 2 5.1%
5 Heat from powered equipment, other 1 2.6%
6 Hot or smoldering object, other 1 2.6%
7 Hot ember or ash 1 2.6%
8 Candle 1 2.6%
9 Heat spread from another fire, other 1 2.6%
04 The biggest fires

4 fires · $12K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Harrisville departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $5,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
2 $4,500 Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire Significant Investigated
3 $2,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $100 Cooking fire, confined to container Significant Investigated
05 How Harrisville compares

Harrisville vs West Virginia vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Harrisville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

24.07
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Harrisville
24.07
WV avg
22.96
US avg
7.48
0.62
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Harrisville
0.62
WV avg
4.89
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Harrisville
0
WV avg
41.5
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Harrisville

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 3,474 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2001 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,000 44.7 mi
2001 Arson/incendiarism 236 35.8 mi
2007 Arson/incendiarism 162 48.3 mi
2012 Equipment and vehicle use 147 14.3 mi
2013 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 130 15.8 mi
1995 Equipment and vehicle use 125 23.2 mi
2010 Equipment and vehicle use 121 30.4 mi
2010 Debris and open burning 120 15.0 mi
2018 Arson/incendiarism 109 13.6 mi
2001 Smoking 102 29.6 mi
2000 Arson/incendiarism 100 49.5 mi
2010 Natural 100 32.3 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Harrisville do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 26362 165
2 26346 2
3 26415 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Harrisville

Six West Virginia cities with population within ±25% of Harrisville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Harrisville?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Harrisville.

HARRISVILLE FD
612 E Main ST
FDID 43103Volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.