In 2025, fire departments serving Goodlettsville responded to 301 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $279K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 55% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
1,403 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $6.2M cumulative property loss. 6 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 228 | — | |
| 2022 | 240 | +5.3% | |
| 2023 | 361 | +50.4% | |
| 2024 | 273 | -24.4% | |
| 2025 | 301 | +10.3% |
For the 26 building fires Goodlettsville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 355 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 99 | 27.9% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 61 | 17.2% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 33 | 9.3% | |
| 4 | Other | 15 | 4.2% | |
| 5 | Cooking area, kitchen | 15 | 4.2% | |
| 6 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 14 | 3.9% | |
| 7 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 9 | 2.5% | |
| 8 | Vehicle area, other | 9 | 2.5% | |
| 9 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 7 | 2.0% | |
| 10 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 7 | 2.0% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 86 | 24.2% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Goodlettsville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 204 | 57.5% | |
| 2 | Hot ember or ash | 24 | 6.8% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 23 | 6.5% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 18 | 5.1% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 18 | 5.1% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 10 | 2.8% | |
| 7 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 10 | 2.8% | |
| 8 | Heat source: other | 8 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 6 | 1.7% | |
| 10 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 5 | 1.4% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 29 | 8.2% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Goodlettsville departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 71% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $278,650 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $178,600 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $129,900 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $93,960 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $79,322 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $60,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $53,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Goodlettsville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
8 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 1 | |
| 10-19 | 1 | |
| 20-29 | 0 | |
| 30-39 | 0 | |
| 40-49 | 1 | |
| 50-59 | 0 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 1 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 2,799 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 328 | 40.0 mi | |
| 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | 230 | 34.9 mi | |
| 2001 | Equipment and vehicle use | 225 | 23.4 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 170 | 35.2 mi | |
| 1998 | Natural | 153 | 49.5 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 118 | 45.4 mi | |
| 2016 | Equipment and vehicle use | 116 | 46.9 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 101 | 46.0 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 100 | 42.5 mi | |
| 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 100 | 6.6 mi | |
| 1999 | Debris and open burning | 97 | 46.6 mi | |
| 2007 | Debris and open burning | 94 | 31.8 mi |
Top 8 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Tennessee cities with population within ±25% of Goodlettsville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Goodlettsville.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.