In 2025, fire departments serving Graceville responded to 10 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $180K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 90% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
32 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $441K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 6 | — | |
| 2022 | 6 | +0.0% | |
| 2023 | 6 | +0.0% | |
| 2024 | 4 | -33.3% | |
| 2025 | 10 | +150.0% |
For the 5 building fires Graceville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 13 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 3 | 23.1% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 2 | 15.4% | |
| 3 | Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 4 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 5 | Machinery room or area; elevator machinery room | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 6 | Maintenance shop or area, paint shop or area | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 7 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 8 | Vehicle area, other | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 9 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 10 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 1 | 7.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Graceville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 6 | 46.2% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 2 | 15.4% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 4 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 5 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 6 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 7.7% | |
| 7 | Chemical reaction | 1 | 7.7% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Graceville departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $180,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $150,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $5,500 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Graceville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 20,231 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 7,330 | 27.4 mi | |
| 2003 | Debris and open burning | 3,191 | 37.6 mi | |
| 1992 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,435 | 44.2 mi | |
| 2004 | Debris and open burning | 1,149 | 24.5 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 600 | 34.8 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 590 | 10.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 480 | 37.1 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 474 | 36.0 mi | |
| 1992 | Debris and open burning | 404 | 45.7 mi | |
| 1992 | Debris and open burning | 400 | 44.2 mi | |
| 2004 | Natural | 354 | 21.2 mi | |
| 2010 | Debris and open burning | 321 | 45.9 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 56240 | 32 |
Six Minnesota cities with population within ±25% of Graceville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.