In 2025, fire departments serving Guymon responded to 83 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $250K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 44% of all calls.
Jul peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
318 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $4.7M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 1 | — | |
| 2022 | 73 | — | |
| 2023 | 87 | +19.2% | |
| 2024 | 74 | -14.9% | |
| 2025 | 83 | +12.2% |
* Well below Guymon's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 5 building fires Guymon departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 118 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 26 | 22.0% | |
| 2 | Other | 13 | 11.0% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 11 | 9.3% | |
| 4 | Undetermined | 11 | 9.3% | |
| 5 | Cooking area, kitchen | 10 | 8.5% | |
| 6 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 8 | 6.8% | |
| 7 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 5 | 4.2% | |
| 8 | Wall assembly | 4 | 3.4% | |
| 9 | Storage room, area, tank, or bin | 3 | 2.5% | |
| 10 | Vehicle area, other | 3 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 24 | 20.3% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Guymon mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 24 | 20.3% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 13 | 11.0% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 13 | 11.0% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 10 | 8.5% | |
| 5 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 10 | 8.5% | |
| 6 | Heat, spark from friction | 8 | 6.8% | |
| 7 | Hot ember or ash | 6 | 5.1% | |
| 8 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 5 | 4.2% | |
| 9 | Molten, hot material | 4 | 3.4% | |
| 10 | Match | 4 | 3.4% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 21 | 17.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Guymon departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 89% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $250,000 | Cultivated grain or crop fire | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $250,000 | Outside storage fire | Major | Investigated |
| 3 | $250,000 | Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire | Major | Investigated |
| 4 | $100,000 | Grass fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $100,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $100,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $75,000 | Building or structure weakened or collapsed | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $54,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Guymon sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 141,117 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30,000 | 45.7 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 29,189 | 48.4 mi | |
| 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 17,482 | 35.8 mi | |
| 1997 | Debris and open burning | 11,000 | 16.4 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 9,600 | 47.6 mi | |
| 2011 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 7,500 | 15.5 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,400 | 11.2 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,769 | 27.7 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,126 | 42.7 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,725 | 43.3 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,500 | 46.9 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,380 | 29.4 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 73942 | 318 |
Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Guymon. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Guymon.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.