Home› Ohio› Hartville
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Hartville, Ohio

In 2025, fire departments serving Hartville responded to 80 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $100K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C+ Peak yr 2023 Stark County 3,318 residents 0 reporting departments 399 5-yr
Total incidents
80
+5.3% vs 2024
Building fires
20
Residential 65% Other 35%
Property loss
$295K
$235K structure · $60K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 60% of all calls.

80
Total Incidents
Building fires 20 25.0%
Power line down 12 15.0%
Carbon monoxide incident 7 8.8%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 5 6.2%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 4 5.0%
All other categories 32 40.0%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Oct peaks. Mar dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 4
Feb 9
Mar 2
Apr 12
May 10
Jun 2
Jul 3
Aug 6
Sep 6
Oct 16
Nov 7
Dec 3
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Hartville

399 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $2.2M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 69 —
2022 66 -4.3%
2023 108 +63.6%
2024 76 -29.6%
2025 80 +5.3%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 20 building fires Hartville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
20%
4
Cause undetermined
10%
2
Intentional / arson
10%
2
Equipment / heat source failure
15%
3
Under investigation
40%
8
Act of nature (lightning)
5%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Hartville?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 72 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 19 26.4%
2 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 16 22.2%
3 Cooking area, kitchen 8 11.1%
4 Outside area, other 6 8.3%
5 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 5 6.9%
6 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 2 2.8%
7 Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch 2 2.8%
8 Wall surface: exterior 2 2.8%
9 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 2 2.8%
10 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 1 1.4%
11 All other areas 9 12.5%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Hartville mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 42 58.3%
2 Cigarette lighter 5 6.9%
3 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 4 5.6%
4 Arcing 4 5.6%
5 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 3 4.2%
6 Hot ember or ash 3 4.2%
7 Flame/torch used for lighting 3 4.2%
8 Heat source: other 2 2.8%
9 Heat from powered equipment, other 1 1.4%
10 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 1 1.4%
11 All other sources 4 5.6%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $235K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Hartville departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $100,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $89,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $25,000 Fire in mobile home used as fixed residence Significant Investigated
4 $7,500 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $5,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $5,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
7 $2,500 Building fires Significant Investigated
8 $1,000 Cultivated trees or nursery stock fire Significant Investigated
05 How Hartville compares

Hartville vs Ohio vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Hartville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

24.11
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Hartville
24.11
OH avg
11.06
US avg
7.48
6.03
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Hartville
6.03
OH avg
1.94
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Hartville
0
OH avg
10.3
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Hartville

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,151 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 400 49.6 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 175 27.0 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 78 28.3 mi
2014 Debris and open burning 60 25.6 mi
2015 Arson/incendiarism 35 26.6 mi
2005 Debris and open burning 31 47.9 mi
2005 Debris and open burning 30 7.8 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 30 43.3 mi
2016 Debris and open burning 30 44.5 mi
2002 Recreation and ceremony 25 30.3 mi
2013 Debris and open burning 25 21.1 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 22 23.2 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Hartville do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 44632 399
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Hartville

Six Ohio cities with population within ±25% of Hartville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.