Home› Ohio› Lordstown
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Lordstown, Ohio

In 2025, fire departments serving Lordstown responded to 10 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $200K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B Peak yr 2023 Trumbull County 3,327 residents 0 reporting departments 179 5-yr

Incomplete 2025 data. Lordstown's departments reported 10 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 36 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.

Total incidents
10
Not comparable with 2024 (incomplete reporting)
Building fires
2
Residential 50% Other 50%
Property loss
$429K
$268K structure · $161K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 90% of all calls.

10
Total Incidents
Power line down 3 30.0%
Building fires 2 20.0%
Road freight or transport vehicle fire 2 20.0%
Passenger vehicle fire 1 10.0%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 1 10.0%
All other categories 1 10.0%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Oct peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 2
Feb 0
Mar 0
Apr 0
May 0
Jun 1
Jul 0
Aug 0
Sep 1
Oct 3
Nov 2
Dec 1
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Lordstown

179 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $779K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021* 21 —
2022 40 —
2023 66 +65.0%
2024 42 -36.4%
2025* 10 —

* Well below Lordstown's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 2 building fires Lordstown departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
25%
1
Cause undetermined
0%
0
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
0%
0
Under investigation
75%
3
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Lordstown?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 40 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 23 57.5%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 4 10.0%
3 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 3 7.5%
4 Function area, other 1 2.5%
5 Shipping/receiving area; loading area, dock or bay 1 2.5%
6 Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste 1 2.5%
7 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 1 2.5%
8 Vehicle area, other 1 2.5%
9 Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. 1 2.5%
10 Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles 1 2.5%
11 All other areas 3 7.5%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Lordstown mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 32 80.0%
2 Heat from powered equipment, other 2 5.0%
3 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 2 5.0%
4 Arcing 2 5.0%
5 Heat, spark from friction 1 2.5%
6 Hot ember or ash 1 2.5%
04 The biggest fires

4 fires · $268K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Lordstown departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $200,000 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
2 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $10,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $8,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Lordstown compares

Lordstown vs Ohio vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Lordstown sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

3.01
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Lordstown
3.01
OH avg
11.06
US avg
7.48
0.6
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Lordstown
0.6
OH avg
1.94
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Lordstown
0
OH avg
10.3
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Lordstown

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,307 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 400 43.5 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 175 43.9 mi
2013 Debris and open burning 106 33.3 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 78 27.8 mi
2014 Debris and open burning 60 43.5 mi
2016 Debris and open burning 47 47.4 mi
2006 Equipment and vehicle use 38 48.6 mi
2015 Arson/incendiarism 35 32.8 mi
2005 Debris and open burning 30 32.6 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 30 45.5 mi
2016 Debris and open burning 30 23.6 mi
2014 Debris and open burning 29 39.1 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Lordstown do fires concentrate?

Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 44481 176
2 44416 1
3 44430 1
4 44444 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Lordstown

Six Ohio cities with population within ±25% of Lordstown. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.