Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Hopland responded to 39 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $2K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Hazardous condition, other lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 87% of all calls.
Jul peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
211 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $613K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 15 | — | |
| 2022 | 52 | — | |
| 2023 | 48 | -7.7% | |
| 2024 | 57 | +18.8% | |
| 2025 | 39 | -31.6% |
* Well below Hopland's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 0 building fires Hopland departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 62 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 52 | 83.9% | |
| 2 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 4 | 6.5% | |
| 3 | Other | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 4 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 5 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 6 | Outside area, other | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 7 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 1 | 1.6% | |
| 8 | Wildland, woods | 1 | 1.6% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Hopland mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 54 | 87.1% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 4 | 6.5% | |
| 3 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 3 | 4.8% | |
| 4 | Heat, spark from friction | 1 | 1.6% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Hopland departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,000 | Grass fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Hopland sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,242,765 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 410,203 | 18.6 mi | |
| 1996 | Arson/incendiarism | 83,323 | 22.7 mi | |
| 2019 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 76,825 | 22.3 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 76,067 | 21.1 mi | |
| 2015 | Other causes | 69,363 | 33.8 mi | |
| 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 67,484 | 42.7 mi | |
| 2020 | Natural | 55,209 | 20.6 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 48,920 | 6.4 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 40,000 | 41.4 mi | |
| 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 39,138 | 45.5 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 36,807 | 36.2 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 36,523 | 19.5 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Hopland. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.