Home› South Dakota› Huron
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Huron, South Dakota

In 2025, fire departments serving Huron responded to 90 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $400K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A Peak yr 2025 Beadle County 14,179 residents 1 reporting departments 399 5-yr
Total incidents
90
+13.9% vs 2024
Building fires
10
Residential 60% Other 40%
Property loss
$1.2M
$680K structure · $488K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 72% of all calls.

90
Total Incidents
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 33 36.7%
Power line down 14 15.6%
Building fires 10 11.1%
Cooking fire, confined to container 4 4.4%
Trash or rubbish fire, contained 4 4.4%
All other categories 25 27.8%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jul peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 8
Feb 6
Mar 8
Apr 1
May 9
Jun 8
Jul 15
Aug 12
Sep 15
Oct 1
Nov 7
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Huron

399 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $4.0M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 76 —
2022 86 +13.2%
2023 68 -20.9%
2024 79 +16.2%
2025 90 +13.9%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 10 building fires Huron departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
74%
23
Cause undetermined
10%
3
Intentional / arson
3%
1
Equipment / heat source failure
13%
4
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Huron?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 167 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Cooking area, kitchen 29 17.4%
2 Outside area, other 28 16.8%
3 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 19 11.4%
4 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 15 9.0%
5 Other 8 4.8%
6 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 8 4.8%
7 Undetermined 8 4.8%
8 Vehicle area, other 7 4.2%
9 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 4 2.4%
10 Substructure area or space, crawl space 4 2.4%
11 All other areas 37 22.2%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Huron mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 48 28.7%
2 Heat from powered equipment, other 26 15.6%
3 Heat source: other 17 10.2%
4 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 15 9.0%
5 Arcing 11 6.6%
6 Hot ember or ash 8 4.8%
7 Cigarette 6 3.6%
8 Cigarette lighter 6 3.6%
9 Match 5 3.0%
10 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 4 2.4%
11 All other sources 21 12.6%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $665K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Huron departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 98% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $400,000 Building fires Major Investigated
2 $100,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $65,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $25,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $15,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
7 $5,000 Fire in portable building, fixed location Significant Investigated
8 $5,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Huron compares

Huron vs South Dakota vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Huron sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

6.35
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Huron
6.35
SD avg
5.75
US avg
7.48
0.71
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Huron
0.71
SD avg
0.72
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Huron
0
SD avg
7.1
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Huron

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 27,872 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2002 Equipment and vehicle use 7,000 37.7 mi
2000 Other causes 5,000 40.4 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 2,300 45.8 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,600 38.6 mi
2009 Debris and open burning 1,250 8.5 mi
2000 Other causes 1,200 14.9 mi
2002 Equipment and vehicle use 1,000 2.9 mi
2006 Equipment and vehicle use 750 38.4 mi
2006 Equipment and vehicle use 700 38.4 mi
2003 Debris and open burning 620 10.7 mi
2006 Natural 600 47.1 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 600 49.9 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Huron do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 57350 399
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Huron

Six South Dakota cities with population within ±25% of Huron. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Huron?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Huron.

Huron
FDID 041019 paid · 23 volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.