In 2025, fire departments serving Inola responded to 19 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $150K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Inola's departments reported 19 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 33 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Passenger vehicle fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 68% of all calls.
Jan peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
164 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $352K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 59 | — | |
| 2022 | 42 | -28.8% | |
| 2023 | 22 | -47.6% | |
| 2024 | 22 | +0.0% | |
| 2025* | 19 | — |
* Well below Inola's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 2 building fires Inola departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 94 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 27 | 28.7% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 10 | 10.6% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 10 | 10.6% | |
| 4 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 8 | 8.5% | |
| 5 | Vehicle area, other | 5 | 5.3% | |
| 6 | Undetermined | 5 | 5.3% | |
| 7 | Cooking area, kitchen | 4 | 4.3% | |
| 8 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 3 | 3.2% | |
| 9 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 3 | 3.2% | |
| 10 | Machinery room or area; elevator machinery room | 2 | 2.1% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 17 | 18.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Inola mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 43 | 45.7% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 10 | 10.6% | |
| 3 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 8 | 8.5% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 6 | 6.4% | |
| 5 | Hot ember or ash | 6 | 6.4% | |
| 6 | Match | 4 | 4.3% | |
| 7 | Arcing | 3 | 3.2% | |
| 8 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 2.1% | |
| 9 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 2 | 2.1% | |
| 10 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 2 | 2.1% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 8 | 8.5% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Inola departments in 2025. These 2 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $150,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $10,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Inola sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 202,687 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 22,787 | 47.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 14,000 | 34.3 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 11,258 | 45.8 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10,880 | 49.9 mi | |
| 2018 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 10,816 | 43.8 mi | |
| 2009 | Debris and open burning | 10,216 | 45.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 9,636 | 44.3 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 9,080 | 48.7 mi | |
| 2018 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 8,792 | 45.7 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8,500 | 43.6 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 8,080 | 32.7 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7,722 | 40.2 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Inola. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Inola.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.