Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Inverness responded to 14 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 93% of all calls.
Dec peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
49 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 5 | — | |
| 2022 | 6 | — | |
| 2023 | 9 | +50.0% | |
| 2024 | 15 | +66.7% | |
| 2025 | 14 | -6.7% |
* Well below Inverness's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 0 building fires Inverness departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 5 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Other | 1 | 20.0% | |
| 2 | Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room | 1 | 20.0% | |
| 3 | Storage area, other | 1 | 20.0% | |
| 4 | Structural area, other | 1 | 20.0% | |
| 5 | Outside area, other | 1 | 20.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Inverness mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Heat source: other | 1 | 20.0% | |
| 2 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 20.0% | |
| 3 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 20.0% | |
| 4 | Chemical reaction | 1 | 20.0% | |
| 5 | Undetermined | 1 | 20.0% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Inverness sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 747,863 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | Natural | 305,651 | 40.2 mi | |
| 2019 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 76,825 | 49.5 mi | |
| 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 67,484 | 36.9 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 56,556 | 30.5 mi | |
| 2020 | Natural | 55,209 | 42.7 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 51,624 | 39.1 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 36,807 | 38.3 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 17,357 | 47.4 mi | |
| 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,525 | 48.0 mi | |
| 1995 | Recreation and ceremony | 12,354 | 1.5 mi | |
| 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 8,051 | 49.5 mi | |
| 2000 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5,731 | 46.6 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Inverness. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Inverness.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.