In 2025, fire departments serving Konawa responded to 37 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $18K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Konawa's departments reported 37 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 82 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 78% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Jul dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
411 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $1.7M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 108 | — | |
| 2022 | 131 | +21.3% | |
| 2023 | 61 | -53.4% | |
| 2024 | 74 | +21.3% | |
| 2025* | 37 | — |
* Well below Konawa's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 4 building fires Konawa departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 92 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 32 | 34.8% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 10 | 10.9% | |
| 3 | Wall assembly | 8 | 8.7% | |
| 4 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 6 | 6.5% | |
| 5 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 6 | 6.5% | |
| 6 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 5 | 5.4% | |
| 7 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 4 | 4.3% | |
| 8 | Cooking area, kitchen | 4 | 4.3% | |
| 9 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 2 | 2.2% | |
| 10 | Storage room, area, tank, or bin | 2 | 2.2% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 13 | 14.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Konawa mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 66 | 71.7% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 8 | 8.7% | |
| 3 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 6 | 6.5% | |
| 4 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 3 | 3.3% | |
| 5 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 3 | 3.3% | |
| 6 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 2.2% | |
| 7 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 1 | 1.1% | |
| 8 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 1.1% | |
| 9 | Backfire from internal combustion engine | 1 | 1.1% | |
| 10 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 1 | 1.1% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Konawa departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 99% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $18,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $16,500 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $10,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $10,000 | Fire in motor home, camper, recreational vehicle | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $6,500 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $2,500 | Power line down | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $1,500 | Power line down | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $1,500 | Power line down | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Konawa sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 168,013 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 17,299 | 36.7 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 16,423 | 44.0 mi | |
| 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 11,577 | 46.1 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 9,600 | 23.4 mi | |
| 2005 | Debris and open burning | 9,429 | 34.8 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8,954 | 30.6 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 7,680 | 47.8 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7,000 | 39.3 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7,000 | 45.6 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,400 | 47.2 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,122 | 12.0 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,760 | 18.9 mi |
Top 7 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Konawa. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Konawa.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.