In 2025, fire departments serving Kulpmont responded to 13 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Kulpmont's departments reported 13 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 34 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Fuel burner/boiler malfunction, fire confined lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 85% of all calls.
Sep peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
169 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 36 | — | |
| 2022 | 68 | +88.9% | |
| 2023 | 29 | -57.4% | |
| 2024 | 23 | -20.7% | |
| 2025* | 13 | — |
* Well below Kulpmont's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 1 building fires Kulpmont departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 43 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 15 | 34.9% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 4 | 9.3% | |
| 3 | Other | 3 | 7.0% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 3 | 7.0% | |
| 5 | Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch | 3 | 7.0% | |
| 6 | Vehicle area, other | 3 | 7.0% | |
| 7 | Wildland, woods | 3 | 7.0% | |
| 8 | Function area, other | 2 | 4.7% | |
| 9 | Corridor, mall | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 5 | 11.6% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Kulpmont mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 29 | 67.4% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 4 | 9.3% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 3 | 7.0% | |
| 4 | Heat, spark from friction | 2 | 4.7% | |
| 5 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 6 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 7 | Fireworks | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 8 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 1 | 2.3% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Kulpmont sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 8,999 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,126 | 42.2 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 935 | 25.4 mi | |
| 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 848 | 40.9 mi | |
| 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | 674 | 47.0 mi | |
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 336 | 38.0 mi | |
| 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 328 | 37.8 mi | |
| 2020 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 308 | 39.2 mi | |
| 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 282 | 16.5 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 263 | 15.6 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 258 | 35.7 mi | |
| 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 257 | 35.8 mi | |
| 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 250 | 37.9 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Pennsylvania cities with population within ±25% of Kulpmont. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Kulpmont.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.