Home› Oklahoma› Lindsay
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Lindsay, Oklahoma

In 2025, fire departments serving Lindsay responded to 101 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $35K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C Peak yr 2022 Garvin County 2,863 residents 1 reporting departments 524 5-yr
Total incidents
101
-10.6% vs 2024
Building fires
4
Residential 50% Other 50%
Property loss
$63K
$44K structure · $20K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 55% of all calls.

101
Total Incidents
Grass fire 22 21.8%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 12 11.9%
Passenger vehicle fire 9 8.9%
Authorized controlled burning 7 6.9%
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire 6 5.9%
All other categories 45 44.6%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 12
Feb 7
Mar 15
Apr 6
May 1
Jun 10
Jul 6
Aug 15
Sep 9
Oct 10
Nov 5
Dec 5
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Lindsay

524 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $1.3M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 70 —
2022 135 +92.9%
2023 105 -22.2%
2024 113 +7.6%
2025 101 -10.6%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 4 building fires Lindsay departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
53%
19
Cause undetermined
22%
8
Intentional / arson
8%
3
Equipment / heat source failure
0%
0
Under investigation
6%
2
Act of nature (lightning)
11%
4
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Lindsay?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 270 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 81 30.0%
2 Outside area, other 63 23.3%
3 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 49 18.1%
4 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 16 5.9%
5 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 9 3.3%
6 Other 8 3.0%
7 Vehicle area, other 8 3.0%
8 Storage area, other 6 2.2%
9 Wildland, woods 6 2.2%
10 Cooking area, kitchen 3 1.1%
11 All other areas 21 7.8%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Lindsay mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 169 62.6%
2 Arcing 16 5.9%
3 Heat source: other 15 5.6%
4 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 13 4.8%
5 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 13 4.8%
6 Hot ember or ash 8 3.0%
7 Hot or smoldering object, other 6 2.2%
8 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 5 1.9%
9 Cigarette lighter 4 1.5%
10 Lightning 4 1.5%
11 All other sources 17 6.3%
04 The biggest fires

4 fires · $44K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Lindsay departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $35,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $5,000 Fire in mobile home used as fixed residence Significant Investigated
3 $2,500 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
4 $1,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Lindsay compares

Lindsay vs Oklahoma vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Lindsay sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

35.28
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Lindsay
35.28
OK avg
10.19
US avg
7.48
1.4
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Lindsay
1.4
OK avg
0.91
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Lindsay
0
OK avg
6.6
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Lindsay

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 248,296 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2009 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 56,688 40.6 mi
2005 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 26,000 40.7 mi
2009 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 23,824 26.7 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 19,200 27.8 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 12,500 21.9 mi
2000 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 11,577 40.4 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 8,954 34.7 mi
2006 Power generation/transmission/distribution 8,000 32.2 mi
2006 Equipment and vehicle use 7,880 37.4 mi
2005 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 7,000 15.4 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 7,000 28.2 mi
2009 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 6,766 7.8 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Lindsay do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 73052 521
2 73010 2
3 73051 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Lindsay

Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Lindsay. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Lindsay?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Lindsay.

Payne
19018 SH59
FDID 47011Volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.