Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Los Gatos responded to 136 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $80K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 72% of all calls.
Aug peaks. Apr dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
974 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $5.1M cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 186 | — | |
| 2022 | 176 | -5.4% | |
| 2023 | 304 | +72.7% | |
| 2024 | 172 | -43.4% | |
| 2025 | 136 | -20.9% |
For the 6 building fires Los Gatos departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 169 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 43 | 25.4% | |
| 2 | Cooking area, kitchen | 19 | 11.2% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 11 | 6.5% | |
| 4 | Undetermined | 11 | 6.5% | |
| 5 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 9 | 5.3% | |
| 6 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 9 | 5.3% | |
| 7 | Exterior, exposed surface | 8 | 4.7% | |
| 8 | Storage room, area, tank, or bin | 6 | 3.6% | |
| 9 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 6 | 3.6% | |
| 10 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 6 | 3.6% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 41 | 24.3% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Los Gatos mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 59 | 34.9% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 28 | 16.6% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 14 | 8.3% | |
| 4 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 13 | 7.7% | |
| 5 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 12 | 7.1% | |
| 6 | Chemical reaction | 8 | 4.7% | |
| 7 | Cigarette lighter | 6 | 3.6% | |
| 8 | Hot ember or ash | 5 | 3.0% | |
| 9 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 4 | 2.4% | |
| 10 | Heat source: other | 3 | 1.8% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 17 | 10.1% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Los Gatos departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 84% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $80,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $40,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $40,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $35,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $30,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $25,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $25,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $20,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Los Gatos sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 726,821 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 396,624 | 25.2 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 86,509 | 14.5 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 48,088 | 49.3 mi | |
| 2007 | Recreation and ceremony | 47,760 | 25.1 mi | |
| 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 34,271 | 38.9 mi | |
| 2003 | Natural | 30,170 | 29.8 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,200 | 36.0 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7,817 | 14.1 mi | |
| 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 6,804 | 41.2 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 6,744 | 35.0 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,513 | 28.2 mi | |
| 2003 | Natural | 5,018 | 33.3 mi |
Top 9 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Los Gatos. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Los Gatos.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.