In 2025, fire departments serving Macungie responded to 33 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 67% of all calls.
Apr peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
241 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 34 | — | |
| 2022 | 71 | +108.8% | |
| 2023 | 48 | -32.4% | |
| 2024 | 55 | +14.6% | |
| 2025 | 33 | -40.0% |
For the 9 building fires Macungie departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 29 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 10 | 34.5% | |
| 2 | Other | 3 | 10.3% | |
| 3 | Cooking area, kitchen | 3 | 10.3% | |
| 4 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 3 | 10.3% | |
| 5 | Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room | 2 | 6.9% | |
| 6 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 1 | 3.4% | |
| 7 | Laboratory | 1 | 3.4% | |
| 8 | Storage area, other | 1 | 3.4% | |
| 9 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 1 | 3.4% | |
| 10 | Vehicle area, other | 1 | 3.4% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 3 | 10.3% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Macungie mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 9 | 31.0% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 5 | 17.2% | |
| 3 | Hot ember or ash | 5 | 17.2% | |
| 4 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 4 | 13.8% | |
| 5 | Heat source: other | 2 | 6.9% | |
| 6 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 6.9% | |
| 7 | Cigarette | 1 | 3.4% | |
| 8 | Sunlight | 1 | 3.4% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Macungie sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 13,544 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,265 | 45.3 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,126 | 50.0 mi | |
| 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 848 | 19.8 mi | |
| 2020 | Arson/incendiarism | 812 | 45.6 mi | |
| 1995 | Recreation and ceremony | 750 | 41.1 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 741 | 23.6 mi | |
| 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | 674 | 42.5 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 647 | 48.5 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 623 | 40.2 mi | |
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 336 | 44.5 mi | |
| 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 328 | 37.6 mi | |
| 1995 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 325 | 30.7 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 18062 | 241 |
Six Pennsylvania cities with population within ±25% of Macungie. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Macungie.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.