In 2025, fire departments serving Maple Glen responded to 14 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 64% of all calls.
Sep peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
82 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $5K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 23 | — | |
| 2022* | 9 | — | |
| 2023 | 16 | — | |
| 2024 | 20 | +25.0% | |
| 2025 | 14 | -30.0% |
* Well below Maple Glen's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 1 building fires Maple Glen departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 16 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cooking area, kitchen | 3 | 18.8% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 3 | 18.8% | |
| 3 | Vehicle area, other | 2 | 12.5% | |
| 4 | Outside area, other | 2 | 12.5% | |
| 5 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 1 | 6.2% | |
| 6 | Heating room or area, water heater area | 1 | 6.2% | |
| 7 | Switchgear area, transformer vault | 1 | 6.2% | |
| 8 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 1 | 6.2% | |
| 9 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 1 | 6.2% | |
| 10 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 1 | 6.2% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Maple Glen mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 10 | 62.5% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 2 | 12.5% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 1 | 6.2% | |
| 4 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 6.2% | |
| 5 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 6.2% | |
| 6 | Cigarette | 1 | 6.2% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Maple Glen sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 68,910 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 19,225 | 49.6 mi | |
| 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 11,638 | 47.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,577 | 44.7 mi | |
| 1992 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,900 | 37.9 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,730 | 48.2 mi | |
| 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,600 | 37.5 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,450 | 40.5 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,300 | 38.6 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,240 | 36.3 mi | |
| 2020 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,107 | 39.4 mi | |
| 2008 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,950 | 37.7 mi | |
| 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,900 | 42.1 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Pennsylvania cities with population within ±25% of Maple Glen. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.