In 2025, fire departments serving Marion responded to 352 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $395K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 47% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
1,843 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $6.6M cumulative property loss. 3 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 401 | — | |
| 2022 | 360 | -10.2% | |
| 2023 | 345 | -4.2% | |
| 2024 | 385 | +11.6% | |
| 2025 | 352 | -8.6% |
For the 46 building fires Marion departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 436 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 79 | 18.1% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 75 | 17.2% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 54 | 12.4% | |
| 4 | Outside area, other | 28 | 6.4% | |
| 5 | Cooking area, kitchen | 22 | 5.0% | |
| 6 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 10 | 2.3% | |
| 7 | Wall surface: exterior | 10 | 2.3% | |
| 8 | Vehicle area, other | 10 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 10 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 9 | 2.1% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 129 | 29.6% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Marion mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 237 | 54.4% | |
| 2 | Hot ember or ash | 26 | 6.0% | |
| 3 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 22 | 5.0% | |
| 4 | Arcing | 21 | 4.8% | |
| 5 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 15 | 3.4% | |
| 6 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 14 | 3.2% | |
| 7 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 14 | 3.2% | |
| 8 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 12 | 2.8% | |
| 9 | Cigarette lighter | 11 | 2.5% | |
| 10 | Heat, spark from friction | 10 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 54 | 12.4% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Marion departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 66% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $394,600 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $100,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $90,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $75,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $65,000 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $60,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $60,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $55,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Marion sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
10 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 1 | |
| 30-39 | 0 | |
| 40-49 | 2 | |
| 50-59 | 1 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 4,561 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1,000 | 24.4 mi | |
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 409 | 28.4 mi | |
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 245 | 34.0 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 225 | 26.5 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 200 | 26.0 mi | |
| 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 177 | 33.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 176 | 32.8 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 172 | 42.4 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 160 | 24.6 mi | |
| 2005 | Debris and open burning | 160 | 25.8 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 150 | 44.8 mi | |
| 2004 | Debris and open burning | 150 | 26.8 mi |
Top 6 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Illinois cities with population within ±25% of Marion. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Marion.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.