Home› Illinois› Morton
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Morton, Illinois

In 2025, fire departments serving Morton responded to 91 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $500K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A Peak yr 2024 Tazewell County 16,601 residents 0 reporting departments 391 5-yr
Total incidents
91
-5.2% vs 2024
Building fires
21
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$931K
$872K structure · $59K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 58% of all calls.

91
Total Incidents
Building fires 21 23.1%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 12 13.2%
Arcing, shorted electrical equipment 8 8.8%
Cooking fire, confined to container 7 7.7%
Outside rubbish fire, other 5 5.5%
All other categories 38 41.8%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Nov peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 3
Feb 9
Mar 11
Apr 3
May 5
Jun 5
Jul 4
Aug 4
Sep 8
Oct 14
Nov 18
Dec 7
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Morton

391 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $1.7M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 80 —
2022 61 -23.8%
2023 63 +3.3%
2024 96 +52.4%
2025 91 -5.2%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 21 building fires Morton departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
46%
16
Cause undetermined
6%
2
Intentional / arson
11%
4
Equipment / heat source failure
17%
6
Under investigation
20%
7
Act of nature (lightning)
0%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Morton?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 94 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 23 24.5%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 20 21.3%
3 Outside area, other 7 7.4%
4 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 6 6.4%
5 Vehicle area, other 6 6.4%
6 Cooking area, kitchen 5 5.3%
7 Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room 3 3.2%
8 Structural area, other 3 3.2%
9 Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. 3 3.2%
10 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 2 2.1%
11 All other areas 16 17.0%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Morton mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 38 40.4%
2 Heat from powered equipment, other 15 16.0%
3 Heat source: other 8 8.5%
4 Arcing 8 8.5%
5 Heat, spark from friction 6 6.4%
6 Hot or smoldering object, other 4 4.3%
7 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 2 2.1%
8 Hot ember or ash 2 2.1%
9 Cigarette 2 2.1%
10 Cigarette lighter 2 2.1%
11 All other sources 7 7.4%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $871K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Morton departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $500,000 Fires in structures other than in a building Major Investigated
2 $100,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $100,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $75,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $50,000 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
6 $30,000 Fire in motor home, camper, recreational vehicle Significant Investigated
7 $13,700 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
8 $2,500 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Morton compares

Morton vs Illinois vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Morton sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

5.48
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Morton
5.48
IL avg
10.41
US avg
7.48
1.26
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Morton
1.26
IL avg
1.55
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Morton
0
IL avg
9.9
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Morton

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,829 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 375 26.3 mi
1999 Debris and open burning 250 39.3 mi
2018 Debris and open burning 200 22.5 mi
2020 Debris and open burning 110 46.5 mi
2018 Equipment and vehicle use 80 33.2 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 75 46.0 mi
2014 Debris and open burning 60 29.1 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 60 42.6 mi
2014 Debris and open burning 51 29.7 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 50 30.1 mi
2010 Debris and open burning 50 36.3 mi
2018 Debris and open burning 45 30.8 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Morton do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 61550 389
2 61568 1
3 61755 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Morton

Six Illinois cities with population within ±25% of Morton. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.