Ross Fire in North Texas Reaches 100% Containment After 90,000-Acre Run
The Ross Fire near Palo Pinto, Texas burned about 90,000 acres and destroyed at least 167 structures before crews fully contained it on Sept. 16.
In 2025, fire departments serving Marion responded to 100 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $15K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 58% of all calls.
Jun peaks. Apr dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
231 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $890K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 6 | — | |
| 2022* | 19 | — | |
| 2023 | 61 | — | |
| 2024 | 45 | -26.2% | |
| 2025 | 100 | +122.2% |
* Well below Marion's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 5 building fires Marion departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 53 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 15 | 28.3% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 15 | 28.3% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 3 | 5.7% | |
| 4 | Exterior, exposed surface | 3 | 5.7% | |
| 5 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 3 | 5.7% | |
| 6 | Outside area, other | 2 | 3.8% | |
| 7 | Other | 1 | 1.9% | |
| 8 | Exterior stairway, ramp, or fire escape | 1 | 1.9% | |
| 9 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 1 | 1.9% | |
| 10 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 1.9% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 8 | 15.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Marion mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 25 | 47.2% | |
| 2 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 6 | 11.3% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 5 | 9.4% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 2 | 3.8% | |
| 5 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 3.8% | |
| 6 | Heat, spark from friction | 2 | 3.8% | |
| 7 | Hot ember or ash | 2 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Fireworks | 2 | 3.8% | |
| 9 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 2 | 3.8% | |
| 10 | Heat source: other | 1 | 1.9% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 4 | 7.5% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Marion departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 98% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $15,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $5,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $3,500 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $2,500 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $2,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $1,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $1,000 | Cultivated grain or crop fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $500 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Marion sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 27,022 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,030 | 48.0 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,000 | 21.7 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,500 | 6.1 mi | |
| 2001 | Debris and open burning | 1,175 | 26.5 mi | |
| 2011 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1,120 | 39.9 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,085 | 49.8 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,000 | 5.8 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,000 | 33.3 mi | |
| 2004 | Debris and open burning | 1,000 | 46.5 mi | |
| 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 973 | 20.6 mi | |
| 2006 | Debris and open burning | 956 | 40.4 mi | |
| 2008 | Equipment and vehicle use | 866 | 23.2 mi |
Top 5 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Texas cities with population within ±25% of Marion. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Marion.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.