In 2025, fire departments serving Nutter Fort responded to 20 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $100K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 95% of all calls.
Dec peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
94 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $162K cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 17 | — | |
| 2022 | 19 | +11.8% | |
| 2023 | 19 | +0.0% | |
| 2024 | 19 | +0.0% | |
| 2025 | 20 | +5.3% |
For the 7 building fires Nutter Fort departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 8 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 2 | 25.0% | |
| 2 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 12.5% | |
| 3 | Storage area, other | 1 | 12.5% | |
| 4 | Substructure area or space, crawl space | 1 | 12.5% | |
| 5 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 1 | 12.5% | |
| 6 | Outside area, other | 1 | 12.5% | |
| 7 | Multiple areas | 1 | 12.5% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Nutter Fort mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 4 | 50.0% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 2 | 25.0% | |
| 3 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 12.5% | |
| 4 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 12.5% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Nutter Fort departments in 2025. These 2 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $45,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Nutter Fort sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 2,728 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Smoking | 394 | 46.8 mi | |
| 2009 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 150 | 36.9 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 150 | 50.0 mi | |
| 2012 | Equipment and vehicle use | 147 | 31.9 mi | |
| 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 130 | 47.6 mi | |
| 2009 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 125 | 37.5 mi | |
| 2010 | Equipment and vehicle use | 121 | 29.5 mi | |
| 2010 | Debris and open burning | 120 | 24.1 mi | |
| 2002 | Recreation and ceremony | 117 | 44.0 mi | |
| 2018 | Arson/incendiarism | 109 | 40.5 mi | |
| 2001 | Smoking | 102 | 16.3 mi | |
| 2010 | Natural | 100 | 31.7 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six West Virginia cities with population within ±25% of Nutter Fort. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Nutter Fort.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.