Home› Maryland› Parkville
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Parkville, Maryland

In 2025, fire departments serving Parkville responded to 340 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $150K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B+ Peak yr 2024 Baltimore County 30,520 residents 0 reporting departments 1,393 5-yr
Total incidents
340
-6.8% vs 2024
Building fires
7
Residential 57% Other 43%
Property loss
$828K
$638K structure · $190K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 59% of all calls.

340
Total Incidents
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 88 25.9%
Power line down 39 11.5%
Hazardous condition, other 29 8.5%
Carbon monoxide incident 28 8.2%
Overheated motor 17 5.0%
All other categories 139 40.9%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jul peaks. Oct dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 19
Feb 30
Mar 43
Apr 28
May 39
Jun 28
Jul 47
Aug 35
Sep 17
Oct 14
Nov 25
Dec 15
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Parkville

1,393 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $925K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 253 —
2022 225 -11.1%
2023 210 -6.7%
2024 365 +73.8%
2025 340 -6.8%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 7 building fires Parkville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
43%
20
Cause undetermined
19%
9
Intentional / arson
2%
1
Equipment / heat source failure
15%
7
Under investigation
15%
7
Act of nature (lightning)
6%
3
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Parkville?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 91 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Outside area, other 23 25.3%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 14 15.4%
3 Other 7 7.7%
4 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 7 7.7%
5 Undetermined 5 5.5%
6 Cooking area, kitchen 4 4.4%
7 Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. 4 4.4%
8 Structural area, other 3 3.3%
9 Vehicle area, other 3 3.3%
10 Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room 2 2.2%
11 All other areas 19 20.9%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Parkville mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 41 45.1%
2 Heat source: other 9 9.9%
3 Heat from powered equipment, other 7 7.7%
4 Hot or smoldering object, other 7 7.7%
5 Arcing 6 6.6%
6 Cigarette 5 5.5%
7 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 3 3.3%
8 Hot ember or ash 3 3.3%
9 Cigarette lighter 2 2.2%
10 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 1 1.1%
11 All other sources 7 7.7%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $570K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Parkville departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 89% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $150,000 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
2 $150,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $110,000 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
4 $70,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
5 $25,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $25,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
7 $20,000 Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire Significant Investigated
8 $20,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Parkville compares

Parkville vs Maryland vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Parkville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

11.14
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Parkville
11.14
MD avg
8.27
US avg
7.48
0.23
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Parkville
0.23
MD avg
1.06
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Parkville
0
MD avg
2.7
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Parkville

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 2,874 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2001 Arson/incendiarism 522 25.9 mi
2011 Recreation and ceremony 500 26.3 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 461 42.7 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 408 28.9 mi
2011 Natural 150 42.9 mi
2001 Arson/incendiarism 100 28.9 mi
2008 Debris and open burning 75 35.4 mi
2019 Equipment and vehicle use 67 41.4 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 59 19.8 mi
2015 Debris and open burning 55 32.5 mi
2012 Arson/incendiarism 48 36.0 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 48 36.9 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Parkville do fires concentrate?

Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 21234 1,391
2 21214 2
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Parkville

Six Maryland cities with population within ±25% of Parkville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.