Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Pine Mountain Club responded to 21 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $500K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 67% of all calls.
Jan peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
98 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $1.4M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 15 | — | |
| 2022 | 14 | -6.7% | |
| 2023 | 33 | +135.7% | |
| 2024 | 15 | -54.5% | |
| 2025 | 21 | +40.0% |
For the 1 building fires Pine Mountain Club departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 12 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 3 | 25.0% | |
| 2 | Cooking area, kitchen | 2 | 16.7% | |
| 3 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 2 | 16.7% | |
| 4 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 5 | Wall surface: exterior | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 6 | Roof surface: exterior | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 7 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 8 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 1 | 8.3% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Pine Mountain Club mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 6 | 50.0% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 2 | 16.7% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 5 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 6 | Cigarette lighter | 1 | 8.3% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Pine Mountain Club departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $500,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $1,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $1,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $500 | Chimney or flue fire, confined to chimney or flue | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Pine Mountain Club sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,486,493 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 281,893 | 29.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Natural | 174,178 | 15.4 mi | |
| 2006 | Debris and open burning | 162,702 | 26.9 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 108,204 | 42.6 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 96,949 | 49.5 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 91,622 | 46.5 mi | |
| 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 63,720 | 33.9 mi | |
| 1997 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 47,000 | 45.9 mi | |
| 2007 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 45,300 | 32.6 mi | |
| 1993 | Smoking | 43,201 | 46.2 mi | |
| 1993 | Arson/incendiarism | 38,152 | 49.8 mi | |
| 2016 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 32,606 | 41.7 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Pine Mountain Club. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.